Today's music?

33HZ - "33HZ" (2005- Outlook Music company) White boys who sound like Prince (circa 1984) doing slow jams- interesting...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Aug. 01, 2005 - 8:18 p.m.

Canning (again)�

Since I gave Andrew the required $31.99 to keep this page �gold� for another year, I really should update more often�


Work for me the past couple of weeks has consisted of me (two fingered) typing a database for a future district-wide storeroom into the beta version of our new closed information network.

This new platform is about as stable as a rowboat in the middle of a class 5 hurricane. It has been completely scrapped as our main system for now, mainly because they can�t get enough bugs out of it to make it dependable. For that reason, they decided to renew the contract with the provider of support for our old system. That one was developed and released back in 1984! In computer terms, that is a horse and buggy.

After having a partial database deleted during a new beta release 2 different times, I told the woman in charge of this new program over in London that I wouldn�t waste any more of my time until they got their act together. Less than a week later, she contacted me with the assurance that anything I inputted into that portion of the program (storeroom inventory, in other words) would be saved to disc.

So I started the process all over again a couple of weeks ago. So far, so good- I am up to the letter �H�, and everything I have typed in has remained in the system.

But, because this job requires my fingers hitting keys most of the day, I have found it hard to spend much time doing the same when I get home in the evening. I have been working more on editing and posting photographs at my Fotothing web site (I update there almost every day) than I have here. I just find it easier to type a line or two explaining a photograph than trying to compose a coherent though here at D-land.

Not that I have ever composed such a thong here in the past, but�


My sis-in-law just returned from Texas, where she visited her new grandson, my grand nephew Thomas. Since my niece and her husband live so far south of Mohall, the odds of meeting up with them anytime soon are slim.

So the snapshots Jules brought back with her will have to do for now:

Yes, his eyes are really that blue, and his hair that red. His Daddy is very Scottish ;)


A canning update:

Tonight I made my first batch of �real� salsa (I made a batch of my version of Taco Bell�s Fire sauce last week, but you wouldn�t want to eat it straight on chips) . I had just enough to fill 20 jars, with a small bowl to sample left over.

Mild. Not enough firepower in my pepper selection in the gardens right now. I had to add a little dried habenero pepper powder just to jack the heat up to a 3 or so (on a scale of 1-10 ).

I wouldn�t have had enough raw ingredients to make that much salsa if a neighbor hadn�t left a grocery store bag full of nice tomatoes on my front porch yesterday. I am pretty sure who left them (there were several of my empty jars with them)- at least I hope it was who I think it was.

If not, could these have been tainted fruits?

No stomach pains as I type this, so they must have been safe�


Had enough peaches over the past week to make:

10 jars of (hot) salsa, 11 jars of sliced peaches, and 2 batches (24 half-pints total) of peach jam.

I have about 6 gallons of ripe fruit on my workbench downstairs right now. Tomorrow- more sliced peaches crammed into pint jars.

Almost all of this fruit is from my two trees (Mr. Snow did have me pick up a small bag of his extras on Friday. That was the base for about � of the second batch of jam). The front tree is still loaded with ripening fruit. Might be as much as 5 of my 5-gallon buckets worth left, although the tree has been �shedding� more fruit every day in our present drought/ hot weather pattern.

So, yes, you could say I am winning the battle against the tree rats this year. It hasn�t been pretty- I have only caught and released 2 since early summer. But my other �deterrent� has done a much better job of dissuading the rodents from visiting my trees.

Yes, they still get a few unripe fruits now and then. But once I impress upon them that I would like them to leave my harvest alone, they seem to get the message.

That�s all I ask of them�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top