Today's music?

Cheap Trick - "Cheap Trick" (1977- Epic Records)...my all-time favorite album (can I choose only 1?)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Aug. 18, 2005 - 8:21 p.m.

Canning, canning, and more canning�

Monday's salsa output- 24 pints of medium. Half with 2 cans of crushed pineapple added to my recipe (Lease's idea- she liked the one she tried at the Mohall Celebration a week ago that also contained pineapple. It won 1st prize, too. The one from the contest, not mine. But I digress...)

With all of the work I have put in trying to make this house bat-proof the last few evenings (2 made it inside over the weekend, which is 2 too many and something like 8 in the last 7 weeks), I haven't had time to post much of anything here recently...

Tonight, I had two full 5 gallon buckets of tomatoes to deal with. Plus, I had a hair cut already on my menu. I hate to have to reschedule it- Peg just looses money when I don't come in on such short notice.

So I started with a 45 minute deficit, meaning I had to really hustle to get my harvest into glass jars.

I had so many yellow tomatoes, I considered making a batch without red. That would have been a bunch more work (considering the fact I had enough paste tomatoes to make another batch of Taco Bell Fire sauce too- 3 different pots full would have took me until bedtime).

So...I made a double batch (19 pints) of the yellow-est salsa I have ever concocted. I would put the ratio at 40% yellow, 60% red.

But it looks yellow.

Mild, too. I left the ripe hot peppers I had on hand for the Fire sauce. The yellow/red salsa should be mild enough for anyone.

Plus, I put up 14 half-pints of the aforementioned Fire! taco sauce (plus 2 more half-pints, unsealed, which someone at work will take home with them tomorrow)

I shouldn't have to put anything else up until Monday at the earliest.

At the rate I am going through pint canning jars, that's a good thing...

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top