Today's music?

Cheap Trick - "Cheap Trick" (1977- Epic Records)...my all-time favorite album (can I choose only 1?)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Aug. 19, 2005 - 8:23 p.m.

One of those �photo filler, very little writing� entries (pretty flower bloom shots to view, though)�

Last weekend, Lease and I (plus various family members) attended the North Dakota state fair.

We always seem to hit the fair on the first Sunday. Don't know why, but we do.

The displays in the Hobby building always look great (the tomatoes haven't rotted yet, in other words). And the Floriculture building always has their gladiola show.

The range in colors and sizes that people manage to cross breed and display always amazes me. The next few photos are from that display...


Purple:

Red:

And a couple of �artsy� shots of the spikes, on display:

And:

Too many people look at these flowers and think �funeral�.

That�s too bad, because they really cover the spectrum of colors and shapes (as long as you don�t mind �tall� and �thin� as your shapes).

Since these beauties really need full sun to show their best display, I don�t bother growing many here in my garden. At our old house, I always had a few spots set aside for glads- I even managed to save a few bulbs (corms?) every fall, to plant again in the following spring.

This year, the only gladiolas I planted were a variety that was described as �smoke, with rose overtones� in the Pinetree seed catalog. They turned out ok, if you don�t mind the spikes being more curved and hugging the ground (low light�s the problem, again).

The blooms looked like orchids, if orchids made flowers that included brown, white, and rose/pink in one bloom.

If we ever buy a property with full sun, I will plant a lot more of these flowers for Lease (she loves them).

Until then, we can always go to the North Dakota State fair on the first Sunday it runs each August�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top