Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Sept. 19, 2005 - 8:42 p.m.

B>Vacation fish stories�

First off�If you haven�t seen it before, check out the anagram generator at Wordsmith.com.

Just type in any combination of words (under 25 letters, or it won�t work), and it sends you back a page full of anagrams. You can use the �advanced� feature to narrow down the results.

Which I did for�

�State Highway Department� becomes �APATHY NIGHTMARES WETTED�, for one example.

Somehow, this makes sense to me�



(according to my Zebco De-liar scale)This is the biggest channel catfish we landed all week, an 8 pounder, caught last Friday on the Route 13 bridge southwest shoreline.

Lease hooked him (on a small Roostertail spinner, which she was using to try to catch white bass!), but asked me to fight this very powerful fish (since he was hooked on an ultralight rod and reel).

Took about 10 minutes to wear him out and land him.

Yes, I did keep him. One side was my dinner on Saturday night when we came home.

And those stories about big catfish tasting "gamey"?

Wrong. Totally wrong...

A close up of my hand, holding the catfish (his tiny, sharp teeth tearing into the flesh of my fingers), and the spinner that he fell for...


Less than 10 minutes later, I hooked into the biggest fish of the weekend:

This is a (again, according to my De-Liar) 13+ pound Smallmouth Buffalo (fish, not mammal). He also grabbed the tiny white spinner that the Catfish fell for earlier.

All I can figure is that the fish that were swirling on the surface (and that we were both throwing our lures at) were feeding on small Gizzard Shad. The weather on Friday was odd- cooler than earlier in the week, one day removed from a decent soaking.

FYI- Lease and I release far more fish than we keep on any fishing trip. This beauty (which made my brother -in-law Tyrone very upset when he heard the following) was returned to Crab Orchard Lake as soon as I could remove the lure and get a quick reading on my scale, as the next photo shows:

So not every nice fish that hits one of our lines ends up as a meal- actually (and I don�t keep a running total) I would guess we released at least 20 fish for every one we kept last week.

Yes, the fishing was very good. But we don�t believe in over-harvesting any body of water.

Unlike the fools who kept so many small Crappies out of B.A.C.E. Lake and the N.P.P.Lake, so that now the fishery is in bad shape and heavily protected.

Kill the Golden Goose, and nobody gets any of those shiny eggs�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top