Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Oct. 02, 2005 - 12:46 p.m.

How to protect yourself from getting fired just for writing in a blog�plus- how�s this for an odd coincidence?

I you , like I, write online in a blog (or �journal�, as I call my crappy missives), you really should go to this page, and real how they recommend you protect yourself from being fired for what you write.

There have been several stories in the news recently about people who lost their jobs, just because they write about things that have taken place in their workplace. If exposing the lunacy of your workplace can get you fired, most everyone I read could be in trouble.

One good thing I did read on this page- since I work for the government, I am pretty safe from reprisals for what I have written through the years (here is what Electronic Frontier Foundation had to say, from the page I linked for you above):

One way to make sure your blog doesn't earn you a pink slip is to make sure that you write about certain protected topics.

Reporting on Your Work for the Government
If you work for the government, blogging about what's happening at the office is protected speech under the First Amendment. It's also in the public interest to know what's happening in your workplace, because citizens are paying you with their tax dollars. Obviously, do not post classified or confidential information.

So I think that means I can still tell y�all about Little Big Man�s latest activities and how they damage our ability to do our work, and still be able to keep my job.

Now- if we get one of those �Governor�s Proclamations� stating otherwise?

I guess I would be done- there aren�t that many good jobs available here in South Dakota.

Kinda like to keep this one, goofy management and all�


Lease and I drove to Collegetown yesterday for several reasons. I wanted to hit the Korean market one more time before I go on call for the winter (to stock up on sauces and Panko breadcrumbs), we both wanted to go to the big garden/craft store (got some good deals of bulbs to force this winter), and Lease wanted to hit Gordman�s (about her favorite clothing/house wares store around).

One last goal- to buy a gift certificate for my Sis�s birthday (next week) from her favorite knitting store. She buys all of her supplies there, mainly because there isn�t any place like it here in Mohall. I have no idea what yarns she would want, so a gift certificate means she can get exactly the right stuff.

Lease and I had just left the Mexican grocery store (located a block south of the yarn store), and were headed into the parking lot when I said to Lease,�wouldn�t it be funny if my Sister was here right now?�

She wasn�t there. No, she was headed from the other direction, and was waiting for the traffic to clear so she could make a left turn into the same parking lot.

She only drives up there once a month or so, and we just happened to pick precisely the same time as her to reach our destination.

Pretty funny, eh?

So she won�t be surprised when she gets her gift this week.

I don�t think she will mind, though. And we all got a good laugh out of our bad timing, too�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top