Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Oct. 19, 2005 - 9:07 p.m.

More fish, buzzards circling overhead, and an interesting find during Lease and my walk this evening�

Lease and I went White Bass fishing again Monday, and had similar results to how we did last Friday. In a little over 3 hours of casting spinners into the choppy shallows at Findilay Bridge, we pulled over 100 fish out of the water. Most were keeper-sized Whites, but this time I didn�t want to spend an hour cleaning fish. For that reason, we tossed back many decent fish and kept only 28.

I say �only�, but their filets filled a gallon Ziploc� bag within 3 inches of the top. I divided them up into 5 meal sized bags, plus kept enough out for my dinner when we came home.

In case you wonder what 28 White bass look like, awaiting their fate inside of a 5-gallon bucket, take a look:

No, they weren�t happy to be in said bucket�


Since there isn�t a fish cleaning station near the bridge, we took our catch to Wilber Creek access area. From the looks of things there, I wasn�t the only person who kept a few Whites that day. The ground around the station was wet on both sides, meaning that at least a few other people cleaned the cutting boards after they finished their task.

That, combined with the (still) unusually warm weather, meant the turkey Buzzards were still hanging around the beach. We counted at least 30 slowly rising on the thermals on Friday. The wind gusts were considerably higher on Monday, and that kept many of the large birds roosting in the trees, out of camera range. But as we were leaving, several took flight, slowly gliding over our heads no more than 30-50 feet off of the ground. I brought the old Minolta with us, so the sharpness isn�t as good as it would have been with the digital Rebel.

Still, when they are that close, getting a decent shots wasn�t that hard:

The weather is supposed to turn sour overnight. The high today was 75�. Tomorrow? 55�.

That said- tomorrow is also the only day I think I can find time to pursue these hard fighting fish for the rest of the week.

Might have to fight the wind and rain after work, just to see if I can fill the bucket one more time�


Lease and I were walking the boys (Jay-Dog and Tony Bonehead) this evening. As we rounded the corner on one of our usual routes, I noticed what looked like an old snow blower, sitting next to trash cans on the curb.

Old in age, but very clean- the blades still had most of their paint on them, and the body was spotless.

Lease told me I should ask the owner if he was actually throwing the thing out. Bro-in-law Sam likes to play around with engines, both large and small- if it was broken, he could probably make it work.

So�once we returned home, I hopped into the Hillbilly truck and headed back to that house.

After knocking on the door, I waited a minute or so before I headed back towards the machine. Before I could reach it, an elderly gentleman opened the front door. I explained to him that I noticed the blower while walking the dogs, blah blah blah(see above), and asked him if he was throwing it away. He said he was, because it hadn�t been used for many years and the engine was �locked up�. He also said he put it there early because he knew somebody might want it.

I thanked him, loaded it up into the bed of my truck, and took it home.

After unloading it, I decided to try to pull the starters cord- if the engine was truly locked up, the cord would not move.

It pulled freely, and the engine tried to turn over!

I stopped right there- the gas looked brown, and I could only imagine how bad the oil was after sitting through that many summers and winters without use.

This weekend, I will be buying a new spark plug and air filter for the engine. I will drain the oil and gas, and replace them with clean new fluids.

And THEN I will pull the cord once again.

I have a feeling that I might have just picked up a free snow blower with plenty of life still in it.

The other guy?

He also told me he was throwing it away because he talked his wife into buying a brand-new, electric start machine.

That told me all I needed to know about the old one.

As you might already know- men love to buy new toys. Even if you have to have your old snow blower�s engine �lock up� in order to buy the latest model�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top