Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Oct. 30, 2005 - 8:16 p.m.

A few photographs (that I had forgotten about) from our vacation last month...

Been editing the last few months� worth of family photos today. This job has been ignored with all of the wedding work I have been doing. Now that I am caught up with those, it was time to decide what needed to be sent off (Snapfish is now my on-line photolab- .12� per 4�x6� print! You can�t make them for that at home, and the quality is great. After this endorsement, maybe they should give me a discount on my next order?)

There were several shots from our vacation that I had forgotten about, so I am sharing them with you now�


This was the �guard dog� at one of the wineries we stopped at on the wine tour. Somehow, I don�t think he is much of a deterrent to crime:

And these are some of the (overripe) grapes, growing on their property. They looked so tasty (and I did drop about $50 on their fine wines), I had to grab a small handful and try them. I don�t think they were planning on harvesting them anyway, since these were young vines with only a few grapes on them this fall. So they didn�t send the guard dog after us as we left the vineyard.

They were very sweet (Niagara was the variety, I think), and would have made great table grapes if not for all the seeds.

We bought a large plastic produce bag full of these grapes (seedless, though) at a farmer�s market before we left Carbongdale. I made them into jam.

Turned out very good, too�


Lease saw this rock before I did. It was part of the rip-rap covering the shoreline of Crab Orchard Lake. About the size of an Australian rules football, and weighing around 70 pounds, this rock looked to her like a smiling fish.

She named it �Smiling Fish Rock�.

I agreed with her- it did look somewhat carp-like.

Since it was just fill rock, I decided to liberate this natural piece of art from its mundane life, and we brought it home with us as a reminder of our trip to Carbondale. The people who passed me as I trudged the 200 or so yards back to the Vibe probably thought I was a little bit crazy.

Little did they know�

Don't worry- I plan on taking a similar-sized piece of limestone (purchased locally from one of the quarries we haul from for work) down with us on our next trip. For now, we are just "borrowing" this unusual rock, until I can make a proper trade...

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top