Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Nov. 08, 2005 - 9:20 p.m.

A rare meal indeed�

This photo is of the side dish (prior to cooking) that Codeman and I ate with tonight�s dinner.

Lease doesn�t do Chinese food, so that�s why it was just for my boy and me.

Anyway�

The bowl on the left contained about a pound of loose leaf Korean cabbage. The bowl on the right? Two small (but long) zucchini, and one long green chili pepper.

Yes, I used bottled stir fry sauce. But the garlic was from the past summer�s harvest.

What makes this side dish so unique?

Well�

Everything (except the peanut oil and sauces) came out of my gardens.

(Mostly) today.

November 8th, about 1 � months past the typical �first killing frost� of a typical year here in Mohall.

The cabbage was picked before I left work tonight at my work garden. The pepper was picked before tilling last night here at home.

And the zucchini?

I planted a small spot here at home back in July. Since the hill was in the back of the garden (and hadn�t produced anything yet), I had forgotten about it.

Tonight, I planted the flower bulbs we had bought over the past month or so, along with the (major-ly) marked down miniature rose bushes we bought at Menards last weekend ( with discounts, only .50� each!).

While I was down in the back beds, I checked to see what was still alive. And I found that the squash had somehow produced 2- 8� long by 1� diameter fruits.

How did I cook this (extremely late) bounty?

Very hot stir-fry pan, add peanut oil and garlic. As soon as they started sizzling, I threw in the squash. A couple of minutes later, threw all of the loose-leaf cabbage, about 2 tablespoons (reduced sodium) soy sauce, and covered. Cooked this way for about 5 minutes, removed cover. The cabbage had wilted down, releasing its liquid. To the pot I added about 3 tablespoons Kikkoman (basic) Stir-Fry Sauce.

Cooked another 5 minutes or so, and then poured into two bowls.

How did it taste?

Well�

There were no leftovers�


Main course?

Lease had a chicken breast, seasoned with garlic, seas salt, and olive oil, cooked in the oven. Codeman and I had last Friday�s White Bass, cooked in the cast iron skillet with garlic and Cajun seasonings.

Oh yeah- and we all had Tater Tots.

Very Napoleon Dynamite of us�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top