Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Nov. 13, 2005 - 7:36 p.m.

And a mighty wind did blow (all day here in the upper Midwest, anyway)�

At least it did here today.

I finally got around to tilling the work garden this morning. Codeman was too busy to give his old man any help, so I had to load and unload the 5hp. Tiller all by my self. That wasn�t that hardest task- just getting the gate at work open and closed was an unbelievable chore, with the wind blowing directly at it at about 35 mph.

I unloaded a few bags of leaves onto the ground, and before I could run over them with the tiller many had blown completely out of the beds.

Crazy winds.

Took me all of 2 hours to get the job done. I left anything still living (leeks, Brussels sprouts, radishes and such) alone, moving the tines of the machine away from the roots of these late plants. In areas where the soil was especially tight and compacted, I added extra leaves and made a second pass.

Yes, this is a lot of work. But it all pays off the following season with larger harvests.

Worth it, in my book�


The wind also made for a bizarre football game for my Bears, too.

Playing a week San Francisco 49er�s team (and as a 13 � favorite, according to the bookies), the Bears did everything they could to give the game away. Three times (three times!) the punt returner for the squad from Chicago (Bobby Wade) dropped the ball, losing it to the defense. All three lead to field goals, giving the 49er�s their only scores of the game.

The Bears were down to starting their 2nd team running back because of a rib injury to the starter. The backup played ok into the 2nd quarter, when he had his knee badly twisted on the artificial turf.

He�s probably gone for the rest of the year.

What did the last running back (3rd stringer Adrian Peterson) do?

Well�

He ran for over 100 yards, scored a touchdown, and basically sealed the win for the Bears with his hard running in the 4th quarter.

Hard game to watch, but the end result was fine with me�


A couple of photos from Tyler and my fishing trip on Friday.

First off- a Tiger Muskie (hybrid sp. Muskellunge):


My nephew Tyler, with his first ever Tiger Muskie, caught Friday 11-12-2005.

Not a keeper- they have to be at least 48" long to be legal here.

This one might have been 12". Probably stocked in the lake over the past few weeks by the Department of Conservation.

Pretty cool, though. I didn't catch my first Tiger Muskie until 2 weeks ago. That day, I caught 8 or 9 of these "stocking" sized predators.

It would be nice to hook an adult down the road, though.

Here�s a better shot to show you the true size of the toothy fish:

Made him look much bigger in the other photo, didn�t I? Perception is everything�


I just finished editing wedding photos for another co-worker today. I didn�t take the originals- they were done by a �professional� on a tropical isle.

They weren�t happy with what they received for their $500, so he asked me to edit them for him.

I should have said no, but I did them for him anyway. Spent a few hours cleaning up the colors (he had a bad sunburn, for starters) and cropping the photos so they looked a little better. Used my Photoshop Elements programs �smart blur� and �sharpen� features to bring out the highlights. Even changed a bunch of them to black and white.

Will I receive any compensation for this job?

Not likely.

Add to that the family shots I took for another co-worker in the local park a week or so ago (not happy with the final edits, I guess- he didn�t come through with the blank cd�s he told me he would pay me for my work), and I am about done doing this work for anyone but family.

Too much time spent without getting much of a thank you, let alone compensated for my time.

I�m not complaining about the three weddings I did over the summer- I broke even on the first (Codeman�s someday to be brother in law), the second I did for a daughter of a co-worker who couldn�t afford to pay me back, and the third was for Moose�s daughter (after many trips in his boat, I didn�t think he should have to pay me back. Plus, the meal after the wedding was 1st rate, too).

But the last few editing jobs have been strictly people who know me taking advantage of my good nature and abilities.

Winter is soon to come, and I don�t have the time to be used for the next few months�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top