Today's music?

Augustana - "All the Stars and Boulevards" (2005 - Epic Records) good stuff...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Dec. 15, 2005 - 8:48 p.m.

Sleep�I need more sleep� plus- photos of snowdrifts and my new plow truck�

Been working far more overtime than I like the past 16 days. Seems like we just get one snow �event� (as the Weather Channel people like to call it) cleaned up, and another one slips on down, making it look like we haven�t done a thing.

Night call this week. We should have been called in last night (refreezing of rain/snow on pavements made all the local roads like ice skating rinks), but the day crew got the early morning wake-up call. By the time they hit their routes, everything was slick and vehicles were playing bumper cars with each other.

More light snow is forecasted for the overnight hours. If it comes before 2:45 am or so, I will be back behind the wheel of my new plow truck:


This is my new route truck. It rides as smoothly as a 1/2 ton pick-up truck (most trucks this size ride like horse carts), and it has a new toy attached to the passenger side- a mid-mount wing plow.

This truck (new last winter) was originally assigned to one of the Interstate routes. Problem was, none of the drivers on that route used the mid-mount wing all winter. They didn't need it, because drifting isn't much of a problem on the Interstate (deep ditches, long distances from the edge of farmer's fields).

My route? All but a few stretches heading southbound fill with snow anytime the wind blows. That's almost every snow.

So...

With only one measurable snow so far this winter, the wing has been used once shift by me, and two by my route partner.

It works great, too- You get one extra pass cleared each trip, and can get further off of the road than you ever could with the main plow on the front of the truck.

Now...if I can just remember to swing out when I reach sign posts and delineator poles.


A few drift photos, from last Friday:

The last one was taken just before sunset last Friday. The drift was located in the middle of a ditch (that�s why I hadn�t plowed it away), and the small round objects in the foreground are crumbs, thrown by my plow.

Pretty to look at, even if I have seen these formations many, many times�


A 2:45 am callout would be nice for a couple of reasons- my Friday workday would be over, Lease is doing her big cookie baking all day tomorrow, and I have approved time off for Saturday night (Lease�s work party), so I could have a nice long weekend.

If not?

I have 2 hours of personal business (use it or loose it) burning a hole in my pocket.

Haven�t been fishing yet this month (a 23 month consecutive catching at least one fish is on the line). The weather hasn�t exactly been primo for wetting a line.

But the N.P.P.Lake has its power plant in operation, which means the fish are active. I should be able to catch a few bluegills, if not catfish or white bass.

Since Lease will be baking (with our niece Shelby as her helper), I don�t need to come home until after dark.

Maybe I better hope it doesn�t snow overnight�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top