Today's music?

Rob Dickinson - "Fresh Wine For the Horses" (2005- Sanctuary Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jan. 30, 2006 - 8:27 p.m.

A Monday�s Monday�.

How so?

Let�s see:

1.A coworker found out today his wife his inoperable cancer. Spread to other parts of her body. She is in her early 50�s, too. He is very dependant on his wife. This will be a battle for both of them. And to see him this down (he left after lunch to take her to another doctor) is hard to take.

2.A former (retired) coworker from the county to the north died Sunday. Lung cancer. He was maybe 60 years old. That makes at least 4 former coworkers dead from smoking. Lung cancer, but smoking.

3.Stopped at three different places, looking for an adapter for my kitchen faucet (installed yesterday) so I could attach our water filter. The last place had what looked like the right item.

It wasn�t. Figured that out in 5 seconds once I came home.

I know- small potatoes compared to the first two lines. I�m just trying to show you the sum total, not degree of �Monday-ness�.

4.Also stopped at the local pharmacy to pick up my blood pressure and acid reflux meds. Had a little surprise- the stomach med that I switched to last fall (because it was the �preferred� by my insurance, meaning it costs them less and they want us to use it instead of a higher priced variety) had doubled in price.

Preferred no more, according to the pharmacist. He said the only acid blocker still preferred was Prilosec. If I have the pharmacy fill it instead of buy over-the-counter packs, I�ll only be out $18 for 3 months supply (instead of $72 for my non-preferred, or around $60 for Prilosec OTC).

One problem- Prilosec doesn�t work for me. I�ve been on it before, and it didn�t give me the control that other ones have.

So I�ll have to pay more (which I wouldn�t mind, if the insurance would have sent me some sort of notice on their changes ;(


Again- nothing like serious illness.

5.Once home, I loaded the dryer with damp clothes, closed the door, turned the knob to start the dryer, and�.

The knob broke off in my hand. Clean break, about half-way down the plastic shaft of the electrical switch.


I can still start the dryer, using a pair of needle-nose pliers and GENTLY turning the broken piece of plastic until the switch engages.

For now.

Will I replace the switch when it cracks completely?

Nope.

This is the same dryer that has problems igniting now and then (not an explosion risk- if it doesn�t light, it shuts off). It is at least 14 years old. We have gotten our money�s worth out of it.

Just not an expense I have planned for, that�s all.

6.Speaking of unplanned expenses- There was a 1099R form in the mail today.

What�s that? Unreported income statement from a transfer of retirement account money (Lease�s) from a fund that was dissolved.

It is only for $67.00.

But?

Now I have to file amended returns to both the Feds and state. I have to give $20 of the $67 to the US bottomless pit, another $2 to the state. I think we can avoid penalties.

Still- doing the amended returns will be an unnecessary hassle that could have been avoided if we would have remembered the $67 check she got back in February.

Or if they would have sent the form out more than 1 day before they would have been breaking the law.

But the mistake is mine, not theirs.

I�ll just wait until the returns hit our bank accounts, waste a few hours compiling all the forms I�ll have to fill out, and send them their money later this month.

Oh well- Monday is almost over. Supper was pretty good for a throw-together. Tyson chicken breast patty sandwiches and Korean ramen noodles (mushroom-black bean flavored paste, not a packet of salty powder in this variety).

And I have Lease�s dark chocolate chip cookie-bar for desert after I click on the �add entry� button.

Things are looking better�.


Nephew Glenn's team won the regional 6th grade tourney over the weekend. Since they are only in 6th grade, that is as far as a playoff system they get to compete in this year. I'm not sure if they have any more games (but I think they do), but if not the ended the season undefeated.

We missed the game Sunday- it was too late in the afternoon, and I spent a good chunk of the day working on plumbing in the house. Was too tired and dirty to make it to the late start. And we had made his last 3 games, too.

Still- I'm sorry we missed the victory.

So instead, I figured I would post a few photos from a previous game as a tribute

Serious at thought, waiting on a free throw attempt:

He is a very good defensive player, causing at least a few turnovers himself every game:

Off on a fast break:

Yes, it�s only 6th grade basketball. But Glenn has shown he has ability at his age (he started for the 6th grade team last year while still in the 5th grade).

I might be post many more photos of his games in the coming years�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top