Today's music?

Let Go - "Let Go" (2005 - The Militia Group) ...Somewhat 70's-sounding, good rock album...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Feb. 11, 2006 - 9:21 p.m.

A busy Saturday, with photographs (to be posted later, aside from the one here today) to prove it�.

Lease and I made it over to Springpatch for the annual �world�s biggest garage sale�, which would better be called �biggest sale of imported off-brand crap in the world�.

Also stopped by the annual orchid show, too.

Oh yeah- it snowed in Springpatch. A lot.

We left Mohall knowing that bands of snow were traveling downstate, heading almost dead north to south. Before we left town, there was maybe 1� of fluffy white stuff on the ground in Mohall. But the national weather service had issued a winter weather watch for the county that Springpatch is located in. The warning said that areas in the west side of the county could have as much as 6� of snow by late afternoon.

Boy they weren�t kiddin�. About 5 minutes over the county lines, we could tell it was snowing ahead of us. How heavy, we weren�t prepared for, even with the warning. We went from driving 70 mph on damp pavement to crawling at 30 mph in 2� of unplowed snow in seconds.

Problem was, the people behind us didn�t respect how bad the roads had become, and several went flying by us at high speeds. How they didn�t end up in the ditch I�ll never know (many people did, if the wheel makes heading off of the lanes and into the median was any clue).

Since I was on night call this evening, I put in for approved time off from 3 pm to 6 pm (another guy had 6 pm to 10, so it wasn�t available). We ended up using every minute that was free before we headed back to town. We also hit a favorite local grocery store of mine (used to be here in Mohall, but pulled out about a decade ago. They were the first company that handed me a paycheck for a days work. They also carry several items that I can�t buy anywhere else but inside one of their markets), and a huge Chinese buffet that Lease had heard good things about (it was good, too).

I think I shot something like 175 photos today while out of town. But the photo I wanted to share with you today was shot before I left the computer room:

This is the (surprise!) blooms I found on one of my old orchid plants in the computer room window. I should probably be barred from growing these (somewhat) touchy plants, the way I ignore my houseplants most of the year. I have three orchids that are still alive of the many I have bought through the years at the local greenhouses and orchid shows.

This one?

I think it is around 4 years old. The last time it bloomed was when I brought it home from this same orchid show. They told me it was an easy to grow variety, which is important considering how I treat them .

That�s right- it has stayed alive but barren for the last 3 years and 11 months.

But, no matter how little I babied it, the plant decided it was ready to bloom once again.

It even smells nice.

Many of the blooms we saw at the show today were much more spectacular than this one. Some where more colorful (this one is really that color- a washed out lilac purple would be the easiest way to describe it), some were more fragrant.

But none brought bigger smiles to Lease and my faces than this survivor�.


I have plenty of photos to wade through. Promise you I�ll post them as I find time for them�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top