Today's music?

Chris Robinson & New Earth Mud- "This Magnificent Distance" (2004 - Vector Records) Ex- Black Crowes frontman, in fine form...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2006 - 9:37 p.m.

Here today�.

Gone tomorrow:

I guess that isn�t really correct- more like �here yesterday, gone today�.

That doesn�t sound as good, though.

I originally took the first photo yesterday to show how close the D.D.Neighbor lives to us. If you look at the second floor on the right side of his house, you can see where the garbage originated. I have a bunch of photographs showing the problems (to put it nicely) that the next owner of this house will have to attend to before the house is up to code.

That�s if the city doesn�t condemn the dump, and bulldoze it to the ground.

Please, o great city zoning/compliance people, please condemn and remove this festering pile of brick and mortar crap to the ground.

But now? After the city decided today was the day they were to cut down the rapidly deteriorating ash tree from our front boulevard, the picture has new meaning.

I was against the removal of this tree when they first contacted me about it last fall. The ash was planted when the house was built (that would be 1928), and had survived a direct lightning hit sometime many years ago.

When they sent me notice last month tat they had to cut it down, I talked to the city forester. I just wanted to know why they decided it was beyond saving.

He told me to climb up into the center of the tree, and I would see just how far the dead wood had progressed.

He was right. Nothing left alive in the center of the massive trunk, and death was spreading to the outer branches.

So I did a little dealing with the forester. I asked him if I could have the good wood (no trunk, no small branches0 left behind for my firewood pile.

No problem.

He asked me if I wanted another tree planted in its place.

Only if it could be another ash- none of those ubiquitous crab apples or Bradford pears � tiny, inedible fruit producing trees don�t cut it for me.

He said he had three different varieties of ash he could buy from his tree provider. He would try to match it with the variety we already have (visible on the other side of this photograph).

Cool.

Little did I know today would be the day. He called me at work this morning, and wanted to know if I cared if they took it down this morning.

Nothing pressing going on at NDDOT, so I told him they should proceed.

I burned 2 hours of P.B., and when I came home our front yard was filled with stacked 4-5 foot sections of ash.

2 � hours later, I had chunked the logs into fireplace-sized sections, loaded my Hillbilly truck 4 times for the short trip to the alley, and raked up/carted off all of the chips from the log cutting (one full plastic garbage can full of those chips).

My 10 year old, $95 Poulan chainsaw made the job easier. It helped that the chain on the bar was almost new, too.

One more hard job remains- splitting (by hand, with a maul) all of this wood.

My firewood storage was getting pretty empty- I haven�t dropped any trees for a couple of years now.

So this project came at a pretty good time for us, firewood-wise�.


Day to day life goes on, without much out of the ordinary happening for long periods of time.

And then, in a matter of a few days our biggest pain in the ass, and a very old member of the family (the tree ;) both are out of our lives�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top