Today's music?

Fastball - "Keep your Wig On" - (2004- Rykodisc) 2 hit wonders ("The Way" and "Fire Escape") still make great power pop mu



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Mar. 09, 2006 - 8:41 p.m.

A worm drowner?...plus- more things to blame on W, and a trio of blurry photos of entertaining fire?

We�ve had around 2� of rain in the last 36 hours.

Much needed rain.

As I got out of my truck this morning, I noticed the parking lot was full of large nightcrawlers, escaping the high water levels in their burrows.

This seems to happen every spring.

A waste of perfectly good catfish bait, I�m telling you�


Took the boys outside to urinate between downpours tonight, and saw another sign of spring- two moths, bumping off of our mercury vapor light on the garage.

The high temperatures over the past couple of days (mid 60�s) must have roused them from their hibernation�.


I�ve spent the hours after work over the past to weeks doing two major outside tasks:

1. Splitting all of the Ash wood from our dead front yard tree into firewood sized chunks. All by hand (I found out late last week that Moose would have loaned me his hydraulic splitter, making this 6 or 7 evening job into 1. Oh well- I need the exercise anyway). I ended up filling � of my rack. That would be about a 2 winter supply for the weekend fires Lease enjoys in our fireplace.

2. Cleaning up the yard for the upcoming garden season. I removed all of the trash and dead stuff from the front beads, organized the side yard flower bed, trimmed and cleaned up the Boston ivy growing on the side of our garage (that took 2 hours on Tuesday evening-more work there than I thought), pruned all of my fruit trees, cut the butterfly bushes and the red twig dogwoods down to the ground, and generally cleaned up all of the dead stuff from last summer. Filled 6 paper recycle bags and the 40 gallon plastic garbage can twice.

I let some of the garden get a little scraggly last summer. The combination of long periods of high heat, plus all of the canning I did made doing maintenance work a low priority for me. The White bass kept me busy all September and October, and by November I didn�t care how the beds looked (it was almost winter after all).

Better to get things into shape now, in the lull before planting begins in earnest.

I did throw a few snow pea and radish seeds into the work beds late last week. Sacrificail lambs to cold weather rot?

Maybe.

But if the weather continues above normal, I might just end up with a small, real early harvest this spring�.


From the latest issue of News of the Weird:


More Things to Blame on Bush: (1) Two gunmen robbed a 57-year-old woman in her Westerville, Ohio, home in February, but, according to a police report, argued among themselves about how to do the job, until one of the men, perhaps feeling sorry for himself, said, "This is all George W. Bush's fault. He screwed up the economy." All the two men needed, he said, was "gas money for the car." (2) A 29-year-old man was convicted in February after he jumped over a fence at the White House to meet up with Chelsea Clinton. According to an officer, the man seemed unfazed at being told that the Clintons no longer lived there but did say that "George Bush told me to jump the fence, and I jumped the fence." [WCMH-TV (Columbus), 2-3-06] [Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, 2-18-06]

I was going to blame him for our long period of dry weather, but this latest rain has ruined that.

Maybe I can blame him for flooding, if the rain doesn�t let up ;)


A trio of photos, from the Mardi Gras Celebration here in Mohall:

I took 3 quick (blurry, due to the very low light conditions) snapshots of this fire baton-twirling woman between bar stops on our bead-gathering tour that evening. She was spinning her baton, even though it was very cold and nobody bothered to stop and watch.

Since we were between two doorways about 50 feet apart, we didn�t stop, either.

But I did give her a big, slightly drunken �YEAH!� call after I took these pictures.

I could see the smile on her face, so I guess that�s good for something�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top