Today's music?

Fastball - "Keep your Wig On" - (2004- Rykodisc) 2 hit wonders ("The Way" and "Fire Escape") still make great power pop music...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Mar. 20, 2006 - 7:44 p.m.

Another one falls for the peanut butter�.plus- the �B� word I don�t like to hear�.


(For those who haven�t read this �journal� before, the next few paragraphs are news. For anyone who has been here for a while, it�s like a 9pm �Friends� rerun- you�ve been here many times before. Bear with me.)

The battle over who (or better-what) gets to eat the peaches and apricots from my backyard trees has started a little bit earlier this year.

Last summer, I relocated 6 or 7 of the tree rats. The year before? 12.

Why not let them eat their fill? Because if I don't control their population, they will ruin (partially eat while still green) almost all of the fruit from the three trees.

Last summer, I put up (canned in syrup) 14 quarts and 23 pints of sliced peaches, along with at least 24 half-pints of jam, and another 12 or so jars of peach salsa. I would have had at least a bushel of apricots, but the tree rats beat me to them. Since they apricots ripen about 5 weeks before the peaches, I waited too long to start the relocation of the pests.

Not this year.

I set the trap up yesterday evening with a chunk of stale bread covered with peanut butter.

This furry guy was in it when I came home from work this afternoon. He wasn't happy.

I was, though.

I drove him about 3 miles to a lakefront wooded area. To return to our neck of the woods, he would have to somehow cross 4 or 5 multilane roads.

Where I moved him is heavily wooded with plenty of nut trees. A bunch of squirrels to keep him company, too.

One down, don't know how many more to go.

One things for sure- after buying the Havahart trap three years ago, the number of tree rats living in our neighborhood has really dropped. All I need to do now is take care of any new immigrant tree rats BEFORE my fruit starts to ripen this summer.

p.s.- no tree rats were harmed in the making of this photograph. He was angry, but unscathed from his time inside of the cage....


The �B� word?

That would be �BLIZZARD!�

And not the tasty treat from you local Dairy Queen.

They sent us home early to rest (yes, unfortunately, I am on nights this week). The latest forecast (which includes a blizzard WARNING) calls for sleet and snow to start any time now, changing over to all heavy snow by midnight. 6� to 8� of it should fall by daybreak, with winds as high as 40mph blowing it all over the place.

This will be the first big snow several of my coworkers have ever worked in, considering how mild the winters have been over the last 4 years. I have fought a few of these through the years, and let me tell you- if you don�t have to go out into one, STAY HOME!

All your going to do in your Behemothville SUV is loose control and end up stranded in a snowbank. I can�t even stop to help you- I�ll be spending my time trying to stay on the roadway myself.

I�m doing what I can to convince Lease to stay home tomorrow. The 32 minute drive from here to Springpatch will take several hours, IF they can make it through at all.

Last week (after the tornado hit Springpatch), Lease and her fellow Mohall employees of Cableco ended up driving to Minot to cover the phones at their call center. That left the Springpatch employees to tend to personal matters due to the destruction.

None of those employees were disciplined for missing work.

Now it�s the Mohall contingents turn to deal with hazardous weather.

Lets see if they get treated the same, or are written up if they can�t make it to work�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top