Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Mar. 29, 2006 - 8:43 p.m.

NOT AGAIN!

Just killed bat in the bedroom. Big fucker, too.

Yes, it's only March. Yes, I have spent uncountable hours, bat-proofing this home.

I have no idea how this one made it through our defenses. Only two windows even have there storms moved up and their screens in place.

The springs that keep the louvers closed on the whole house fan aren't pulling hard enough to completely shut them off. There is only a tiny gap in the hardware cloth behind these louvers, so the bat would have had to squeeze himself through a very tiny opening.

Not taking any chances- I covered the outside of the fan with screen wire and duct tape for the night. Tomorrow, I will cover the opening with visqueen.

That means we won't be using the whole house fan anymore.

Probably a good idea- we have to have windows open for it to work. Even with screens, they seem to find their way through somehow.


Couldn't get to my tennis racket when the bat entered the bedroom. I was sitting here at the computer in the extra bedroom when I thought I saw a movement in the hallway. Before I could stand up, Lease was screaming in the bedroom.

How did I bring this one down?

By swinging the dog gate at him as he flew back and forth, back and forth, until I smacked him down. He landed about 2 feet from Lease on the bed (she was covered by a pillow while this was going on). One on the bed, I was able to go around the bed and pick up my Jimmy Conners model. Several direct hits later, he was dispatched to bat hell ( I don't think there could be a heaven for bats).

Once I was sure he was dead, I gathered him up in a washcloth, and took him outside to the trashcans.

This better not be the beginning of another summer like last year. My heart can't take that much stimulation again....


On more positive critter news:
I have relocated a total of three tree rats over the last 5 days the Havahart has been set in the backyard.

Might as well lower their population now, before they can do any damage to the peach and apricot crop.


Title of an email in my inbox last Friday:

FREE POT!

If I didn't have to pee in a jar every so often, that might be a tempting offer.

Who was offering me the free pot?

Park Seed company.

As in free Styrofoam pot to plant their lilies into this summer.


About 24 hours later, I get the following email:

We Apologize, We Meant to Say Container

They called it a planter or container 5 times in the follow-up email.

I image more than a few other people had the same reaction I did to the first email.

I liked the first one better myself....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top