Today's music?

Supermint - "Supermint" (1999- Insurgence Records) great powerpop band from Chicago



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Apr. 24, 2006 - 4:18 p.m.

A busy 4 day weekend�

First things first:

How would you like to open a package and find this?

And know that it cost you $10, too?

It is supposed to be a "Harvest Moon" Echinacea plant, one of the newer yellow varieties of this (usually) pink wildflowers.

The package was shipped from the seller on Monday, but didn't make it to our home in Mohall until Friday. Since it was also "signature required", I couldn�t pick it up until Saturday morning.

Whatever the reason- it's dead.

I asked them to give me credit for fall garlic or bulbs for the $10 that this plant cost my bank account. I haven't heard back from them as of today.

If they do give me credit, that will be the end of the story.

If not?

I'll be letting y'all know who the company is that sent me this soggy, dead mess....


Lease and I burned a couple of vacation days (Friday and Monday) to have a 4 day weekend. I planned this back in January (when she had to have here time off posted) to try and hit a perfect spring weekend for fishing and garden-related things to do.

We couldn�t have been luckier with the weather. All for days were dry, with light breezes and mild 70��s for the high temperatures.

We fished. A bunch.

Thursday night (after work) we went to the N.P.P. Lake. Only landed three fish while bottom fishing for catfish, but they were interesting- 1 3 pound channel cat (in the freezer now), a 3 pound carp (gladly taken from me by a Korean man fishing next to us), and the largest Buffalo fish I have ever landed on a rod and reel (around 20 pounds- it took me 15 minutes to land, even using one of my �wedding photos� heavy rods from Moose).

The Buffalo fish went home with 3 men who were fishing on the other side of the bridge . They kept yelling, �Don�t throw it back� while I was fighting it to the bank.

Buffalo fish can be very tasty, if you remove it�s mud vain, score the flesh (to cut through the tiny bones located in their sides), and deep fry it with a cornmeal batter. I know- I have had it prepared this way a few times in my life.

But a 20 pounder?

Had to be a little gamey, don�t you think?

They were thrilled to death to take it from me, so at least I made a few people happy that evening.


BTW- the local meat market sells cleaned Buffalo fish with the head still attached for about $3 a pound.

After cleaning (gutting and scaling, in other words), my fish would have dressed out at around 12 pounds.

Now you see why they didn�t want me to throw it back?



We were fishing at the same bridge most of the afternoon and evening yesterday, and all I had to show for my bottom fishing was one 4 pound carp.

Bad results, in other words.

But large male Bluegills kept moving into the area around us all day. Lease went through a full carton of wax worms, along with a few night crawlers, reeling in fish after fish. I used my fly fishing tackle to land a bunch myself, taking a break from the bottom fishing every so often. We brought home the 14 largest �gills, which were cooked this afternoon for my lunch (and at least one workday�s lunch of leftovers, too).

We also fished for White Bass in the river feeding B.A.C.E. lake on Friday (took home 8 nice male fish- the females are still not in the river for the spawn yet).

Around that, we made it to the grocery salvage place in Amishtown (ready for canning season now, with bulk pectin and other supplies), and a visit to the big outlet mall (picked up tan work pants for Codeman to wear to his internship this summer, and new work jeans for Lease and myself).

Saturday was the spring football game for the local college, plus a stop at the two oriental market (fresh Kimche in the fridge for tonight�s supper, along with a 6 month supply of ramens and fresh Korean seeds for the garden) and the big garden center in Collegetown.

Today?

Tried to get all of the flowers Lease picked out into the soil, along with a ton of other garden/home tasks completed before the rain hits here tonight.

I am bushed.

Lease has last night�s �Soprano�s� loaded up on the DVP (missed it while fishing yesterday), so I�m signing off now.

Back to work tomorrow.

I have to go for my 6 month check-up with my doctor tomorrow, too.

Back to the daily grind again�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top