Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, May. 21, 2006 - 12:17 a.m.

I am such a dumbass....

Why?

Because after a great day of fishing at N.P.P. Lake, I hauled all of our tackle and other stuff up to the top of the hill to the guardrail, walked back to our car while Lease watched everything, loaded the stuff into our Vibe, made sure Lease had a cold diet Pepsi, relieved my bladder (hey, nobody was on the road and it was dark, so...), closed everything up and headed home.

After driving the 40 miles home, I unloaded the Vibe, took the dogs outside, and took the bucket containing the 4 nice Channel Catfish we kept to the driveway, emptied the water from the bucket, and decided to take a photo of said fish. To do this, I needed to get my fishing pouch (fanny pack, ok? That's what it is, after all, but it does contain ALL of my terminal tackle. And my 5 year old Fuji digital camera, since we took it with us today).

Um....

It wasn't in the back of the Vibe. Nor the back seat.

Panic time.

I went inside, and checked to see if Lease had brought it inside.

No.

Went back to the Vibe, double checked every square inch of the inside of the vehicle.

No tackle pouch.

It made it up from the lake to the guardrail. But.....

It was on the ground next to all of our possessions. On the ground. It was green, the same color as all of the vegetation along the guardrail.

And it didn�t make it into the Vibe.

FUCK!

What did I leave behind?

Almost all of the items you attach to the end of your fishing line that I own. ALL of my hand-tied jigs. ALL of my hand tied spinners.

Oh yeah- and my 5 year old Fuji digital camera, too.

I wanted to puke. Literally.

We still have two days of vacation to go. We won't be fishing, though.

I don't have enough terminal tackle to head to the lake.

The good news?

Moose (my fellow N.D.D.O.T. employee and fishing buddy) gave me a ton of stuff a few months ago to pay me back for taking photos of his daughter's wedding last year. Without the supplies he picked out for me (and made for me) I wouldn't have enough hooks and lures to hit the water in the near future.

Karma?

I don't know if I believe in that crap, but after today (and the good fortune of having the supplies that Moose had left me)...

In the past 3 years, I managed to return a digital camera a co-worker found on the road when I recognized a person in one of the photographs (she wasn't very appreciative, thought)and returned a very expensive rechargeable drill/saw kit to a local window repair shop that I found on the road while at work (the owner of the shop acted like I took it from their repair vehicle, no that I found it in the ditch on my snowplow route).

All without a word of thanks from either owner.

I had my name, address, and phone number written with Sharpie(R) inside of the cover of my fishing tackle pouch.


Do I expect to get a phone call in the next few days, telling me they found the pouch? Asking for a reward ($50 would be fair, IMHO)?

Considering the caliber of the average person walking the shoreline of this bridge , fishing for catfish after dark?

I won't be holding my breath...


By the way- all this is about material possession.

They can be replaced.

My Fuji camera is now over 5 years old (it worked ok for The Becker�s on their Orlando vacation, but has acted up, on and off, for a little while now).

All of the hand-tied lures can be remade. My labor is (as they say at the State) paid for.

So I�m not totally freaked out over this.

I just hope that whoever finds the pouch can live with themself if the don�t even make a call to me after seeing my name, address, and phone number on the pouch.

Ill-gotten gains can never make up for doing the right thing, right?

Gotta believe that, anyway�.


Have a family wedding to shoot next month. Will now be doing that with only one back-up camera.

Damn.

Might have to pick up a cheap camera # 3 between now and then.

Don�t know if I could have trusted the old Fuji for that anyway�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top