Today's music?

Man of the Year - "A New and Greater Tokyo" (2005 - Tiny Beat Records) think Weezer, but less arena, more alt. rock....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, May. 23, 2006 - 8:36 p.m.

Break in the work (dining room renovation, that is)for a trip to N.P.P. Lake last Tuesday�. Oh yeah- I guess I should post more of the dining room photos, too- sorry if this one take a while to load up�.

One of our "messes" from the catfish spawn last week. The two larger fish are males in full dark blue spawn colors, the smaller olive colored fish are females, and the tiny catfish is a Brown Bullhead cat tat had the misfortune of deep hooking on a chicken liver-tipped size 2 hook (he would have dies anyway, so into the bucket he went with the big ones)

All together, we landed 10 keeper Channel Catfish between 1 1/2 to 6 pounds.

Not bad for us.

We also brought home some nice bluegills on a couple of the days that we went after the Cats. Lease put most of those into the bucket while I was staring at my two bottom fishing poles, waiting for bites.

The freezer fish stock was running a little low, and I'm supposed to bring and fry fish at a coworker's birthday party this weekend.

I think I have enough White Bass and Bluegills from the past 12 months to feed the masses.

In other words?

I'm hoping I won't have to share my recent catch of catfish for this event.

I don't catch that many Catfish anyway- these might be all I put back until late summer.

Shouldn't be a problem- most people like the flavor of White Bass and Bluegill better anyway....


Nobody called about the tackle pouch and old Fuji camera I was stupid enough to leave behind after we left the lake late Saturday night.

Not that I expected a call, even though my name, address, and phone number are written in Sharpie� inside of the pouch.

I poured lead for 3 hours on Sunday, gathered up everything I had on hand, and made a trip to the local tackle store for a new pouch (think fanny pack, only with more pockets and plastic boxes. And more manly. Rugged, you might say. But not an actual fanny pack) and a few spinners and twister tales.

So I�m back in business, fishing supply-wise.

The Fuji Finepix camera?

It was almost 5 years old. We only used it for trips to the lake and when Lease wanted an easy-to-use camera for photographs at her workplace.

Probably end up at a pawn shop, with the scumbag who hocks it picking up $10 or $15 bucks for his �effort�.

I have one wedding to shoot this summer, but it�s an important one: our nephew Tyler and his fianc� Leslie�s event in mid-June.

Found an unbelievably low price on the newest Minolta Dimage 6 (my Z1 is now 3 years old, and 4 models ago) at Abe�s of Maine. That�s the online retailer I bought my Digital Rebel from a little over a year ago, so I trust them to deliver the product.

How low is their price?

About $90 less for the 6.0 megapixel model 6 than I paid 3 years ago for the 3.1 megapixel Z1.

Hum- haven�t really bought myself any toys for quite some time now�.


Back to the wallpaper from Hell striping project:

This is what was left after removing the printed layers of the wallpaper- a very thick backing made out of cardboard. It took several soakings with hot water and cutting with the razor tool to bring this stuff down.

And what did we then find?

You can faintly see in this photo what we found- another layer of heavy wallpaper. Very thick paper, another thick layer of backing attaching it to the walls. And it only covered about 90% of the walls- it appears the former owner of our house tried to strip it off, gave up when it proved to be tough work, tried to paint over the mess he made, and then finally went with the top layer of wallpaper instead. All done about 55 years ago.

From the looks of it, the bottom wallpaper was probably installed when the house was built (circa 1928). It was even covered by the chair rail surrounding the room.

Another batch of wallpaper stripper applied, more heavy scrapping (by this time, using long handled knife blade scrappers that Lease picked up at the local Farm and Fleet, to make the job a little bit easier).

All told? 6 hours of scrapping.

I can honestly tell you this one fact- there is no wallpaper in any of the rooms in this house. If we ever move again, I won't sign on the dotted line if there is one speck of wallpaper mounted in the new house.

Hate the stuff.....


Finally, 6 hours later- bare walls.

Notice the computations on the wall- this is from the installers of the bottom layer of wallpaper.

Guess they didn't have any paper to write on....



Codeman and The Lovely Chelsea pitched in, helping Lease and I scrape the offensive wallpaper from the walls....



BTW- wore the same clothes for all three days of stripping/paining. I save jeans and shirts that are badly ripped or stained for jobs like this one. After I was finished? They went into the trash.

Anyway�.

Last bit of work on the walls before bedtime- applying painter's caulk to each and every crack. Used up 4 tubes of the stuff.

Ended up having to fill all of the crown moldings both top and bottom, plus several deep cracks in the plaster.

All this was done in one day (Saturday a week ago).

After that ordeal, the paining would be a snap.

More photos of that later. I figure I�ve slowed your computer down enough for one day�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top