Today's music?

Dinosaur Jr. - "You're Living All Over Me" (1987 - SST Records) just listening to this for the first time.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Jun. 27, 2006 - 9:26 p.m.

An update of the baby Robins, and my lower G.I. intrusion�

Found the following on the University of Illinois's Wildlife Medical Clinic website:

If you find a young bird on the ground with feathers: He is called a "fledging." When they try to fly, they fall out of the tree, but that is okay. The mother and father bird will feed them on the ground for several days while they learn to fly. Stay away so the parents can feed them. Keep dogs and cats away until the bird can fly.

Yes, I know- I didn�t �find the young bird on the ground�. My sticking a camera lens too close to the nest caused one to try to fly away.

But the rest of the paragraph made me feel a little better about what happened yesterday (see last photo for an explanation).

I watch the Robin�s [parents feed the two still in the nest today, and they seemed to be spending some time on the back fence, near where the raspberry patch is located (and where the one �fledgling� hid after he left the nest).

So I�m hoping that�s a good sign.

The two left in the nest? They appear much more comfortable in the tiny space. I took a few pictures from 25 feet away, using a 400mm lens and a tripod with the digital Rebel.

Not as close-up as the other shots, but I don�t want to scare another one out before he/she is really ready to go�.


Today�s Roto-Rooter test?

No problem- everything checked out o.k. Don�t even have to go back to the doctor�s office for a follow-up visit.

The anesthetic messed me up a little- I told the anesthetist (love the spellchecker ;) that the only other time I had been �put under�, I was pretty aware of everything that was happening to me (I wrote about that fun day here, way back in 2002). He told me he would make sure that didn�t happen again.

Boy, did he. I remember hearing Billy Ocean�s �Get Out Of My Dream, Get Into My Car� dreck from the mid-1980�s over the speakers of the procedure room, the nurse telling me, �You might feel a little bit of a burn in your hand or up your�

The nest thing I remember was being rolled back into the admit/recovery area. The clock made it clear that I was under for about 25 minutes.

Good shit.

Only problem was, I�ve been dopey (dopier than normal, anyway) the rest of the day.

This doesn�t get better by morning? I�m not driving my truck to work.

Have a few sick days stored up, so I don�t think anyone would complain�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top