Today's music?

Wolfmother - "Wolfmother" (2006) sounds like a lost album from Black Sabbath or Led Zep from 1971....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jul. 10, 2006 - 8:20 p.m.

Summertime, and time is precious so�.

Haven�t had much time to sit here at the computer, except to finish editing the photos from our nephew�s wedding and our short trip to Peoria last week (photos from that to be posted here soon).


I was finally able to give the finished edits to our nephew a week ago Saturday, and his bride got her first look the next morning (they both usually work nights). She was happy with the end results, so I can finally post a few of the shots here for your appraisal now:


This one shows the hectic moments just before the ceremony. Seems there was a slight problem with the bride's gown, but her (soon to be) mother-in-law fixed it just in time.


The bride and the groom. Misty spot filter on my old 32-70mm Canon EOS lens for the fuzzy outline effect.


The groom, Lease�s sister Rube�s son Tyler. The photo is cropped for an 8�x 10� print.

And-

The bride and our new niece-in law (is that the right term?) Leslie. This was also cropped to 8� x 10� size.

The cd-rom that I burned for the happy couple (30 times, so everyone who wanted it could have it as a slide show) ended up containing 397 photos. Crazy, I know. All had had at least a little editing, in only to crop them so that a 4� x 6� print wouldn�t chop the top of someone�s head off at the photo lab.

The way they both reacted to the photos made all that work worth the time�.


I turned down two people who asked me if I would do their wedding photos the night of the wedding. Leslie told me that she had other coworkers asking for my phone number to shoot weddings, family photos, and who knows what else after she showed them the wedding album. Thankfully, she told them that I wasn�t available for hire.

I knew I liked that woman

She did tell them I wouldn�t be doing anyone else that�s not family until I reach retirement age at the NDDOT.

That�s at least 5 � years away, so unless they want to put off their wedding plans until late 2012, they better look for someone else�.


Went fishing twice last week.

Thursday evening in Moose�s boat. Wind from the northeast, fishing at its least. We only boated 6 White Bass between us, only one big enough to keep.

Oh well- the weather was great, and Moose took his boat all the way to the bridge I fish every fall, so I was able to see a bunch of the lake from a perspective I haven�t seen before.

After the last stop fishing, the boat was really struggling to make it back to the dock. Moose checked the primer bulb, tried adjusting the tilt- nothing was working.

Um�I forgot to pull the anchor up when we left for the ramps.

That, folks, will really slow a boat down.

I imagine we bonked a few fish on their heads in that mile or so that we ran with the anchor about 8� below the bow of the boat, too�


Saturday, Lease and I went to N.P.P.Lake to try a little catfishing. I had a carton of chicken livers that I had left outside to ferment for about 24 hours. Every time I opened the fridge between Wednesday (they day they went back into cold storage) and Saturday, the lid was bulging. After �burping� the container, the smell of death filled the air.

Inedible for humans, perfect for catfish.

From 11:30 in the morning until 3 p.m., we landed 11 Channel Catfish. Seven were keepers, with the largest approaching 7 pounds.

This was the best day I have ever had bank fishing for Channel catfish. Sad, but true. But I only tried to get serious about catching these tasty fish 2 summers ago. Listening to people who know how to catch catfish (bro-in-law Ty told me about letting the bait ferment, Moose told me to switch to baitholder hooks instead of the treble hooks I had been using- thanks guys!) has improved my success greatly.

Had the two largest filets tonight for supper. Cooked them with a heavy coating of Cajun spices in a foil �boat� on the gas grill.

They weren�t the least bit �fishy�, as some people complain about wild-caught catfish.

Had enough left over to fill two Ziplocs for the freezer.

Pretty good return on a $1.37 carton of chicken livers�.


A LONG entry- sorry. Haven�t written much lately, so I thought I would try to catch you up a little.

I�ll leave you with this screen shot, taken from the TV yesterday evening:

I turned the White Sox game on in the 7th inning, with the good guys down 3-2.

They tied it up in the bottom of the ninth inning, and then played 10 more (extra) innings! We ended up watching baseball for 3+ hours, even though we didn't turn it on until the game was almost "over".

I think everyone involved was so tired at the end, they were glad to get the game over with and done. Oh yeah- the good guys won, too.

Sorry, Cosmic, but the Bosox did clobber my Southsiders in the first two games of the series, so you can�t be that upset ...

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top