Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Aug. 30, 2006 - 8:59 p.m.

No, this thing isn�t from outer space (even if it looks like it could have been )�.

This odd fungus was growing in my backyard yesterday. I was about to mow the lawn when I noticed it, sticking up from near rose bed (which is filled with wood mulch).

Very strange- it was hollow, slimy at the tip, and smelled like mint and chocolate. Or something like that.

I picked it, fearing that one of the big dogs would think it was food and end up at the vet with liver failure.

After a little poking around on the Internet, I found out what it is - a Stinkhorn mushroom, most likely the Mutinus caninus mentioned in this link's information :Click here .

The expert commenting on the Caninus Stinkhorn said that it was named this because it "resembles a male dog's whatsit" (I won't say more than that because this is a family-friendly site). That's what one of co-workers said when he saw this photo today.

Funny thing is, I never would have thought that without him saying so in the first place....

Here�s another photo, to show you how large it was:

I hope this is the last of these. Weird, yes- but I don�t want to have to get to them before Tony or Jay find them in the morning�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top