Today's music?

Spencer Dickinson - "The Man Who Lives For Love" (2006)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Sept. 27, 2006 - 8:56 p.m.

Longear sunfish�.

This one was from our recent trip to Carbondale. Caught him on a wet fly I make that I call a "Sprout". The bodies of many lures tied for fly fishing are made out of animal fur, and this one just happens to be made from our Brussels Griffon (dog) Sprout's sheds (removed from the bristles of the brush we use on our pups).

I've been making this fly (it resembles a Gold Rib Hare's Ear, for those who know their fishing flies) for almost as long as Sprout has been a member of our household. And I have caught more fish on this one pattern than any other fly in my tackle pouch.

One last thing- the Longear is one of the smallest members of the sunfish family. The state of Illinois doesn't even list a record fish- Kentucky has one listed at 13 ounces .

Less than a pound is about as big as they get.

This one in my hand is probably the biggest one I have ever caught. I catch them very rarely this far north, but seem to get into them often in the Shawnee lakes. He might have been 7" long, might have pushed 8 ounces.

In other words- huge for a Longear.

Right after I took this photo, I let him go....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top