Today's music?

Cheap Trick - "Roackford" (2006 -Big3 Records)- just like their vintage stuff- good, in other words....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Oct. 02, 2006 - 7:37 p.m.

Worth the hurt....plus- a few major changes around Casa Roadiepig (long entry ahead)....

This is how my hands ended up looking after a full week of fishing- many of the cuts were caused by the sharp rays in the pectoral and dorsal fins of the many catfish we caught that week (other cuts were caused by trying to filet my fish too quickly, and from trying to break a snagged bottom rig on 12 pound test line).

Yes, I know that catfish have these "spikes� I do my best to let go of each one so that I don't get poked. The Channel Catfish are the easiest- since they are larger, they don't usually get me.

It's the smaller Bullheads that seem to do the most damage. As small as 5" long, just getting a safe grip on these pesky fish is a chore.

Over two weeks later, and I still have a 1" long scab between my left thumb and index finger. That one really stung - catfish have a type of protein on their spikes, and inject it into the puncture wound. True fact.-feels like a bee sting, but lasts longer if they get good penetration.


The canning has slowed way down, but I did get a batch of hot pepper jam put up recently. I had so many red-ripe Anaheim chili peppers this fall (due to my week tomato crop, I have far more than I need for salsa and such), I figured I could use them up this way.

The Anaheims are on the mild side, so I tossed in 8 Serrano peppers to up the heat. They did the trick, giving the sweet mixture a nice, quick "burn' that fades away rapidly.

The peppers were so ripe; I didn't even have to add food color to the jam. It has a red-orange cast that you couldn't duplicate with commercial food coloring.


I took a sick day today- I think I picked up a little food poisoning yesterday.

Fell much better tonight.

Back to work tomorrow, I guess....


Lease and I have tickets to see Alice Cooper in concert later this week.

Yeah, that's right- Alice Cooper.

Lease loves his music. I don't mind him, too.

His new album ("Dirty Diamonds") is as good as anything he has released in the past 20 years.

Seriously.

So this ought to be a great concert.

Our seats are in the third row of the balcony at the venue. By the time I came home from work the day the tickets went on sale (at 10 am, unfortunately), the lower level was sold out.

The balcony is only about 50 feet from the stage, so the seats should be fine.

Considering how theatrical Cooper's shows are, being up a bit might be a better view anyway....


Oh yeah- one more thing (drum roll please):

Codeman broke up with his girlfriend of over 4 years (formerly known as The Lovely Chelsea, now known as �.nothing) a little over a week ago. She had been treating him pretty bad for a long time (and had stopped talking to Lease and I unless we spoke to her first), and he finally had his fill.

Being his parents, we couldn't say how we felt about the way she was treating him- he had to make the decision on his own. I did tell him (when he informed me that he was breaking up with ....nothing) that for some time now my biggest fear was that we would be consoling him over his divorce a few years down the road. She doesn�t want to have children (Codeman wants several), and constantly told anyone who would listen that she wasn�t going to marry Codeman anyway. As long as they had been together, my fear was that they would go ahead and get married anyway, and then have a miserable marriage.

Thankfully, there doesn�t appear to be any way that will happen now....


Codeman has another girl from his college (who he has been friends with for a while now) who was interested in dating our boy. He knew that she felt this way, but didn�t act upon it because he was tied down with �nothing. We got to meet her last Thursday. She is going to school to get a degree in music business, but with her voice she should be in the performing side of things. She has recorded a few songs (she brought a cd of her material), and has a beautiful voice.

She also went to a family party (on Saturday), and met most of Lease's side of the relations. And that didn�t scare her away ;)

Last night, she watched most of the Chicago Bears blow-out of Seattle with the boy and me.

That's right- she watched a Bears football game with Codeman and me.

I like this girl already....


One last thing- �.nothing knew Codeman�s password that he uses for online sites.

She went on one site (MySp@ce maybe?) last Friday, and she changed his bio to say he loves having sex with men, and was looking forward to meeting new hot studs at his college.

So petty and childish.

Several of the new girl�s friends spotted the changes just a short time after �nothing had made them. He was able to go online and change the page back to what he wanted it to say, along with his passwords, soon after.

To think she had a key to our house up until their breakup. We trusted her enough to open our doors to her.

And after treating Codeman like crap all summer, to pulls something that nasty on him is really just sad�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top