Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Nov. 05, 2006 - 7:16 p.m.

What's new? Let's see...

The oven part of our stove died today. This sucks, especially with Thanksgiving just around the corner.

Probably just the igniter, but getting one might involve a little bit of a hassle.

Had to use the broiler to cook Lease's chicken tonight . Codeman and I had White Bass cooked Japanese-style (from a recipe I found at Epicurious- it was kick-ass good). The Whites were caught Friday, when i used the last of my P.B. time up and hit the shoreline at Findilay Bridge. They weren't as aggressive as they have been the last 5 weeks or so, but after experimenting a bit I found them a little bit deeper and a little bit slower than the recent past. Brought home 10, including the largest one I have landed in a couple of years (pushing 18", over 2 pounds I would guess).

I have two suck-ass government vacation days next week (Election Day and Veterans Day), and I hope to add a few more Whites to my freezer then....


The Hillbilly boat will be sold and gone in the next few days. Either a friend of a coworker or an actual coworker will take it off of my hands soon.

We have owned this boat since 1984! I paid $175 for it back then, and had to get a signature note from the credit union just to buy it.

I'm asking for $250 for it now. Only a 50% markup, after 22 years. Not bad, considering the fact I have patched it, added two swivel seats to it, and painted it (several times) over the years.

You can rent a similar boat (with a 7.5 hp engine, which mine doesn't) from our favorite lake in C-dale for $75 a day.

Rent it for 4 days, and you can own my old boat.

And I am having trouble getting either guy to make to deal.

If neither pull the trigger on a sale by next weekend? I will hook it up to my Hillbilly truck, haul it to my friend Sef's (the farmer/coworker) farm, drop it on his back 40, and let it rot there rather than give it away to someone who can't understand the history I have with this boat....


Why am I selling the old boat?

Well....

Next May, we make the last payment on the mortgage on our house. Next June, Codeman graduates from college.

Our plan is to replace the 1992 Dodge Dakota (AKA Hillbilly truck) in May (earlier, if it snows enough to pay ahead on the mortgage) and buy a real boat (preferable a Lund deep-V, with a nice 40 hp engine and live wells) as soon as I find one at the right price soon after.

yes, that means no more Hillbilly equipment for me.

I have never been too proud to use my Hillbilly stuff, but having a truck with out rust and a boat with a gas motor would be a nice step up....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top