Today's music?

White Light Motorcade - "Thank you, Goodnight!" (2002)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Dec. 07, 2006 - 7:41 p.m.

Random thoughts about the last few days, recovering from The Great Ice Storm of the Century....

The sky about two hours before sunset, Tuesday evening as I was driving home from work.

No real reason for posting this shot, except I thought the clouds were interesting....


Grimshawn stole my thunder. He wrote yesterday about the people who were complaining about how quickly the power was (or wasn't) being restored after our recent ice storm.

I was listening to late night radio on Friday night (KMOX in St. Louis, for those who care), and comedian Larry Miller was there, promoting his new book.

The title?

"Spoiled Rotten Americans:Outrages of Everyday Life"

One of the lines he said was how we, as a people, throw a fit if there are three people in front of us in line at the ATM.

That means we would have to wait 56 seconds to get our money!

Does that ever sum up how many of the people are acting around here right now.

And I know, without loosing my power I have no right to complain.

But people, please! 900 poles down in our state? At the peak, 500,000 homes without power?

Just how fast can we expect this to be back to normal?

I heard the mayor on the radio today, saying that it would probably be 6 months before all of the limbs and trees were cleaned up.

6 months!

And people can't understand why their power isn't all back on 48 hours after the ice storm of the century?

Makes me think that my fellow Mohallians (I.E.- residents of Mohall) are a bunch of cry babies, that's all....


The Cableco people came today to look at the downed wire in our alley. They said until the Powerco cleans up their fried mess, they can't do anything about the cable problems.

I can live with that.

I just hope nobody bumps into the hanging power line in the alley.

That person would be fatality #1 from the ice storm in Mohall....


We had a surprise 1-2" snowfall overnight.

We had all of our dump trucks ready for hauling downed trees today. That means tailgates down, spinners and plows removed.

The night crew (not mine this time) were called in at 12 midnight, and had to throw everything together to attack the snow.

My route was messy when I came in, but after letting the salt/chloride put down by my b-shift partner work, along with a bit more from yours truly, I was able to get my route all clear by 2 pm.

The high today was 13� f.

Tomorrow? 32� f.

And by mid-next week, the LOW should be well above freezing.

That should make the tree cleanup a bit easier....


The three houses to our west are still powerless.

Lease is starting her holiday baking tomorrow. That day is set aside for neighbors and a few friends.

Two of the three house in the dark are on that list. And all three houses are now vacant, frost forming on the insides of their windows.

This is shaping up to be one fucked up Christmas/Chanukah /Kwanzaa/Whatever else holiday season here in Ice Storm Landia....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top