Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jan. 27, 2007 - 10:58 a.m.

NO FUCKING WAY! THAT'S MY OLD BOAT!

This was in the Tribune Sunday magazine last week. When I turned to this page, my jaw dropped to the floor.

THIS IS A PHOTO OF MY OLD BOAT!


The date for the Tribune photo was January 1966.


I had posted photos of the boat back when I sold it, but once it came up missing, I took them down. Too depressing to dwell on for me.

But I found out a few things about the boat after talking to an investigator for the state police- it wasn't a homemade boat, even thought he title said so back when i bought it.

It was a factory made boat, assembled prior to 1970 (the year that boat VIN numbers started to be required nationwide). If you owned an old boat after that date, you just titled it as homemade- that way you didn't have to pay a higher tax cost when you sold it to someone.

This boat is set up identically to how my boat was back when I bought it. The local Montgomery Wards was a dealer for this brand- then used to have piles of them stacked up by their auto department when I was a child.

So I guess that part of the mystery of my boat has been solved.

Here is a closeup of my old boat's front end- notice the placement of the rope ring, and the wrap-around aluminum on the sharp point on the nose of the boat

Another view of the front- check how the metal is attached at the point:

And a blurry close-up of the boat in the old newspaper photo- as far as I can tell, it is identical to my old boat:

The bumper rail along the sides of both boats are the same. The back of both boats were made of wood, wrapped with a layer of very thin aluminum. Even the seat arrangement is identical. Just too many similarities to be just a coincidence.

My old boat went down to the bottom of a large lake the week before Christmas. The guy I sold the boat to drowned. The officer I talked to last week assured me that the boat had not failed- that the man's actions caused his demise. He still has to notify the family of his findings, so I will leave it at that.

Still doesn't make me feel any better about the incident, but at least I now know that my boat didn't cause his death....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top