Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Feb. 05, 2007 - 8:34 p.m.

14 seconds of a Bear's football fan's bliss....

Followed by 59 minutes and 46 seconds of....eh, blah, yuck, oh shit!, and on and on...

The 14 seconds? That was the opening kickoff, returned for a touchdown by the Bear's Devin Hester. It went swiftly and uncontrollably downhill after that

Yeah, the Bears lost yesterday. The score was 29-17, but it really wasn't that close. And no, the whole loss wasn't Rex Grossman's fault. If you know football, you know he gets blamed for about everything that goes wrong with the Bears, down to why the popcorn is soggy at the concession stand.

He didn't do anything to help them win, mind you. But there is plenty of blame to pass around (I'm thinking the next time a Bears player brings a Colt player to the ground when they are the first to the ball carrier, and bring him down without help, will be the first one to do so).

And credit where its due, too- the Colts had a great game plan (methodically march up and down the field, 10 yards at a time, and let the Bears offense shot itself in the foot every so often). Peyton Manning is a fine quarterback; top-notch television ad spokesman ("Cut that meat! Cut that meat!"), and he's will never be mistaken for Terrell Owens.

That said- look out for the Bears in 2029!

I'd like to say "next year!", but recent history tells me that the looser of the Super Bowl generally ends up out of the playoffs the next year. It's a major hurdle to cross after getting your butt spanked on national TV.

Why 2029, you might ask?

Well...

In 1963, the Bears won the NFL championship. That was a few years before the whole "Super Bowl' concept was hatched.

The next time they played for the championship was 22 seasons later. That time they won Super Bowl XX. That season was 1985; the game was played in January 1986.

They didn't make it back their again until this year- 2007, another 23 years later.

So....2029 it is!


Got a new toy for my digital Rebel- a very inexpensive angle/bounce flash I picked up from an Ebay seller that I have purchased filters from in the past. At the ridiculous "Buy it now!" price of $8.95 + $3.95 shipping, I figured I couldn't go wrong:


Here is the link to the seller's website. They have 5 more for sale at that price


Yes, it is pretty cheaply made- the battery cover kept popping off every time I tilted the flash head until I slapped some electrical tape on it.

That said- I have always wanted one of these to play around with, and this one really fits the bill. If you can set your camera's f-stops and shutter speed manually, I can highly recommend you pick one of these (or another, more expensive brand) up.

Here is a photo I shot yesterday using the bounce setting on this flash. That's my nephew J-Rod and grand nephew Kaden, visiting before yesterday's (not so) Super Bowl. If you look closely , you can see how the bounce effect softens their faces without harsh lighting:

Red eye is a thing of the past. Of course, you have to be in a room with low enough ceilings for the flash to work in the bounce mode. But when I get the shutter speed set right, the effect is great. This one will get a workout the next time I am shooting a wedding indoors�.


I thought this was a pretty cool website. Check it out, if you are interested in how many people have your name in America:


HowManyOfMe.com
LogoThere are:
1,083
people with my name
in the U.S.A.

How many have your name?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top