Today's music?

Silversun Pickups - "Carnavas" (2006) Smashing Pumpkins, V.2007



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Feb. 27, 2007 - 8:54 p.m.

Remember me writing about the tame Blue Heron I wrote about last summer?


This is (most likely) the same Blue Heron who ate a half dozen small Bluegills and Bullhead Catfish from me last summer. I wrote about this tame bird back in July- we were fishing for Channel Catfish, and weren't doing to well. This bird , which are notoriously shy around people, landed about 50 feet down the bank from us, and patiently waited for us to toss him a fish (ended up being 6 or so),. After I told a few coworkers about this strange encounter, a couple of coworkers told me their stories that sounded the same as mine- this one odd bird had become tame enough to trust humans to feed him. Moose had even tossed him a few himself a few weeks before I found the heron.

I took the camera back the next couple of times we went there, but we never saw the Mooch again.

I didn't fish this lake again until December. No Mooch back on that cold day.

But last week, I was fishing on one of the bridges that corrals the heated basin of this nuclear power plant. After partially filling my bucket with (barely) keeper Bluegills, who decided to fly up and land between my spot and few other fishermen down the bank?

Mooch, of course.

He took up a spot between the 10 or so fishermen lining the bank, turning and looking at each of us. I'm sure he was wondering which of us would toss him a meal first.

I tried my best to be the first to land a small 'gill for him. After 15 minutes of fruitless casting and retrieving, I finally landed one small enough for the mooch.

I turned and headed down the bank, and he had flown away.

I'm just glad I snapped a couple of photos of him , right after he landed....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top