Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, May. 04, 2007 - 9:54 p.m.

In case you're wondering why I haven't been around much lately...

(Anyone who has read my (now infrequent) ramblings already knows this about me, but I thought I would explain my recent disappearance)


And yes, I know- this is a pretty crappy photo, composition-wise. I just wanted to show the scale of my warm weather bedding plants ( the cold season flats are already in the ground) that I have started, and the fact that Jay-dog snuck in the picture didn't bother me a bit.....


Gardening takes up most of my time every April and May. I started something like 12 "flats" of bedding plants this year. Thats something like 1000 plants, figuring that I put more than one plant in each plastic cell, and a flat holds 72 plants....but I digress.


I added 30 more square feet to my main bed this year. That means another 20 or so tomato (or more likely, tomatillo plants, since Lease and I have decided that Salsa Verde rules!). to my already over sized spread.


About the plants- I give away at least 1/2 of all the plants I grow. Today, I sent home 15 co-workers with extra tomato plants (some as many as 12 plants each).


Do I ever get tired of all this work?


Nope.


We eat the proceeds all year round, and if I can get a few more people to try sticking their hands into the soil and growing something themselves, all's the better....


I am now averaging about 1/4 of the amount of computer time as I did just a year ago.

Do I think writing a "journal" is a waste of time?

No.

But as I get older, I realize time is the one thing you just can't have enough of.

free time, that is. Work time , as always, is still a drag.

But if the choice is sitting in front of this keyboard and typing up an entry or throwing a lie in the water, hoping for a strike from a White Bass?

The call of the wild is winning much more frequently nowadays.

No, I am not abandoning this "journal".

I am just finding it hard to have time to write.

As poor as my writing has been (since 2001 here, not counting my school years), I can't imagine anyone really complaining if I don't post here much anymore.

But I just wanted to explain why I have not been "nurturing" my D-land output.

Lease just called my name- she wants me to come downstairs and watch the episode of "Shark" we DVR'd last night.

Later, friends....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top