Today's music?

We Are the Fury - "Venus" (2006)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, May. 30, 2007 - 9:05 p.m.

Spawning catfish = tasty eating!


Lease took this photo of me on Sunday:

The stringer holds 6 nice Channel Catfish, caught at N.P.P.Lake that morning. The smallest weighed around 1.5 pounds, the largest pushed 4 pounds. All were females (don't ask me how I know, but I do....)

At Lease's request, I brought along a baggie with 20 of the 50-72 count shrimp from the freezer. This hurt me, because in all honesty I would rather eat shrimp than catfish any day. But one day last summer, we watched another angler land a boatload of catfish using shrimp, and it made an impression on her.

I should have listened to her- in the first hour we were there, we landed (she did, actually- she is really good at handling a landing net, and I managed to fight all of the keepers into the shoreline,...but I digress) all but one of these fish. Almost as soon as I threw a hook baited with shrimp into the water, a large catfish hammered the rod. I lost at least 5 other nice fish, miss hooking or not fighting them properly into the shore.

So...what did I do with these fish?

I filleted all 6, and divided them into two packages. One was tossed into the freezer, the other became my supper last night (Cajun catfish with canned tomatoes, hot peppers, salsa Verde and mushrooms. I know- not true Cajun- but I made it, it tasted good, so that's what I am calling it).

I have a full bag of the same 50-72 count (per pound) shrimp in the freezer, plus a carton of chicken livers , waiting for this weekend. If the weather holds out, we will go after work Friday until it's too dark to see. The Channel Cats should still be in the spawn mode then, so more great fishing might be in our future....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top