Today's music?

Queens of the Stone Age - "Era Vulgaris" (2007) Good stuff....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jun. 21, 2007 - 8:02 p.m.

Back to the wood floor project...

So here's what I had, the day of both the carpet installation and the staining of the wood steps.

I used two rolls of the 3M painter's tape (delicate variety, so the fresh white paint on the trim and back splashes wouldn't be pulled up) to protect the edges. Took me about twice as long to apply the tape as it did to actually stain the wood.

I love this pricey tape. Mush easier to work with then your average masking tape. And it really doesn't pull up the fresh paint at all (I had applied the white just 24 hours before!) They claim you can leave it on for up to 2 weeks without leaving any residue. I have no patience for that- the tape was left down for 27 hours on the steps when I painted the white trim, but I pulled it up just a couple of hours after the stain went down.

That said? The stain still found its way under the tape at numerous spots. Yes, I made sure that the tape was properly down.Went around it with my fingers one more time, just before I applied the stain, just to be sure. I just don't think there is any way you can apply stain and not have it bleed through where you don't want it to be.

I used an artist's brush to fix the edges. that took almost an hour, using one hand as a stand to steady my paining hand. I really didn't want to accidentally smears some white paint where I had done so much to keep it off.

The end results? Not "professional", but Lease likes it so I am happy:

Here's the end result- the (finally) refinished steps, along with the freshly installed carpeting in the living room.

Up next? Stripping the rest of the wood floors in the entryway and the dining room (the left foreground of this photo shows the badly worn old flooring).

But not too soon- our boy is now in the process of moving into his new home (that's another story, of course), so nothing else will probably be done on our house for at least a few weeks ;)

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top