Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Nov. 12, 2007 - 7:48 p.m.

The bikini tree? Plus- a (missed) photo-op...

I almost forgot to pass this photo on to you- this is the famous (around here, anyway) bikini tree. Each spring, a new coat of paint is applied to the tree (supposedly by a fraternity at the local university) to make sure it looks sharp:

And yes, I know- this is a one piece, not a bikini. I think the bikini went away a couple of years ago, and now that it is painted as a one piece, it will probably stay that way unless someone gets creative and paints the middle section with some bark-colored paint ;)

This tree grew into this odd shape many years ago- I can remember seeing it painted way back when I was in high school (a long time ago, folks- the 1970's, in case you didn't know). It was a full sized tree back then, so it has looked like this for many years....


Went fishing this morning (another government employee day off), and I ended up under a bridge waiting on a severe thunderstorm to pass. My phone doesn't have weather radar as a feature, and when I left the house there wasn't anything on the loop to worry about. I ended up bringing home 5 catfish(1- 2 pound channel cat, 4 big yellow bullheads) that made for a tasty dinner tonight.

I didn't bring a camera with me today- Lease even asked me if I wanted to pack one of the point-and-shoots with me, and I told her I didn't. I brought the old Minolta with me on Saturday morning when i went to the B.A.C.E. lake for some white bass fishing. That turned out to be a good decision, because the lake was a dead calm rippled mirror. The fishing was horrible (I actually was shut out until I hit a creek on the way home and caught one measly small white crappie), but the photographic conditions were great. I fired off 100 or so shots, of which 25 I feel are worth sharing with you down the road.

But today? Chance of rain? No, I didn't want to take a camera with me.

Big mistake, photo opportunity wise.

After that downpour and thunderstorm passed me, the sun popped out to the west. This caused the most amazing rainbow to form to the east. It hugged the horizon, a wide belt that only appeared to be 100 feet or so off the ground for several hundred yards of the north sky. Combined with the fall colors in the (mostly) oak trees and the deep blue skies with the passing storm made one of the most amazing photo opportunities I have seen in a long time.

And all three of my digital cameras were at home.

This is the same bridge where I accidentally left my old Fuji digital with my terminal tackle a year ago, never to be returned to me (even thought there was plenty of i.d. inside of the tackle pouch). Maybe that is why subconsciously I didn't bring a camera with me today.

Bummer, though. A great photo-op lost...

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top