Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Dec. 02, 2007 - 2:08 p.m.

Deja Vu?

We ended up getting a glaze of freezing rain yesterdays. Nothing heavy, but even 1/10th of an inch of freezing rain makes driving nearly impossible.

I lost the elevated curve at the North end of my route for around 4 hours yesterday. By the time we were called in, loaded our trucks and headed out to our routes the rain had already fallen and the damage was done. I drove5 mph for the entire first pass, making a drive that takes 20 minutes in dry conditions take over 2 hours, slipping back and forth all the way.

This is just one of many vehicles that ended up wrecked becasue they were driving too fast for the conditions. I had 15 semi trucks and at least 30 cars in the ditches on my route, most in that elevated curve. I had one van pass me doing at least 20 mph (this, while I was driving right down the middle of the lane so that I could apply salt to both lanes, and to discourage passing), lost control and slid right past the front of my truck and into the right ditch. I couldn't have missed hitting them by more than a few feet, and there was no way I could hit my brakes and stop even if I wanted to at that time.

About 10 minutes later, the same idiot passed me on the left side again! Somehow, he didn't loose control that time.

When they finally cleared enough cars out of my way so that I could treat the elevated curve, I had to drive my truck IN REVERSE, using my salt for traction, so I could treat the pavement. I had to swerve in and out of stuck vehicles to do this , too.

And guess what? The van that passed my those 2 times? It was stuck in the median, abandoned by its occupants.

I've said it for years (I think Ron White owes me some royalties, too)- you can't fix stupid....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top