Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Feb. 16, 2008 - 9:32 a.m.

More wood...

Cross section of our stored firewood:

The area where I stack our wood is almost full- considering I entered this winter without having enough seasoned firewood to last for this year, we have cut and split a lot of wood over the past 2 months to refill this stockpile.

The guys at work had to remove a very old, dead Ash tree from the right-of-way on Thursday this week. As is the rule, we chip all the smaller stuff and cut the usable firewood into pieces that are small enough to carry but too big to toss into a fireplace without further cutting and splitting. This wood is left stacked just off of the shoulder for anyone to load and carry away. In the past, I have been on tree cutting crews that had people with pick-up trucks and trailers waiting behind us, picking up the wood as soon as we moved on to the next tree.

But not this year. After last winters ice storm , most everyone who burns wood had all of the free fuel they needed for several seasons. Not me, though- since the weather turned snowy right after the ice storm, I barely picked up a truckload or two before it was all gone.

Since this tree wasn't far from the storage, after I left work for the day Thursday I drove out to see if it was still there.

It was- all of it. I could have picked up 4 or 5 truck loads, but I don't have room to store that much more firewood. I just filled my pickup with the very best, easiest to split pieces and left the rest for the next guy.

I bet it is still sitting there as I type this....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top