Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Feb. 24, 2008 - 11:41 a.m.

Eclipsed moon, dead lens, and other puppy damage...

A couple of photos from Wednesday night's lunar eclipse:

Shorter time exposure taken just before the total eclipse- that way, the sliver of light is the dominant feature of the photo:


Pulled the telephoto lens back a bit to capture the stars around the moon as seen from the central United States:


And now- the rest of the story (seems like I heard someone say that once ;-):

This is what is left of my old Vivitar 28-210mm lens:

How did it end up this way?

Well... it's a sad, stupid story.

I was on my way outside to take pictures of the lunar eclipse the other night. Unfortunately, the camera and lens didn't make it outside. I had the digital Rebel attached to my tripod, and for some stupid reason I didn't wrap the neck cord around my hand.

Big mistake. Just before I reached the bottom step, Rex (our Pit Bull/Black Lab puppy) ran past me, knocking the whole camera/lens/tripod assembly out of my hands. The camera hit the floor lens first, falling from about 7 feet high. The lens broke free of the camera, spilling its insides all over the floor. The battery cover on the digital Rebel also broke, which means until I pick up a new cover I have electrical tape keeping the battery inside the camera. Very Hillbilly chic, if you ask me.

After putting another lens onto the Rebel, I went outside and took the photos I posted over the past few days. So I think the camera is still fine.

The lens? D.O.A.

The lens was bought for me by Lease back in the early 1990's. It was for my original Canon Rebel film camera. I have shot all of my weddings using this lens for most of the portrait shots. It wasn't a very expensive lens, but it had very sharp details for close-up shots. Vivitar is out of business now (I am pretty sure somebody bought them out years ago), so replacing this lens with another just like it is problimatic. I found one used on on Ebay for $100, but it has to be about as old as mine was, so I would bprobably be buying someone else's junk.

Time to do a little research- I haven't spent any of my overtime (now at 230+ hours for the winter) yet, so I guess it's time to upgrade my lens collection...


Oh yeah- Rex has also chewed up 2 DVR remote controls over the last 2 weeks. I thought I had put the new one away from his reach this morning, but I didn't. He had it upstairs in the computer room, chompin away on it when I entered the room.

He has also developed a taste for house slippers. I am down to my last pair, and have to make sure they are out of his reach whenever I take them off. Otherwise, he will grab one when we aren't watching him closely enough, and hide with it in another room, happily chewing it to a soggy mess.

I will be happy when he gets most of this puppy behavior out of his system. He is only 13 months old, so we probably have another year or so of this kind of silly stuff left to live through....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top