Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, May. 27, 2008 - 8:13 p.m.

Peony blooms and arctic chill- in May?

Memorial Day has come and gone, and something happened this year that I can't remember ever happening before- the common peony bushes didn't bloom in time for use as cemetery flowers. Ever since I was a child, my Dad always cut peony blooms to decorate graves. That is, unless they were done and gone by the holiday.

This year? Memorial Day was a little early, but the long, cold spring had more to do with this oddity than anything.

These blooms are from one of my sister's hybrid/species peony bushes. She has several tree peony bushes, which bloom very early (about the same time as late tulips of early iris), plus a couple of really cool, large flowered shrub types.

This is the pink one. I don't know the varietal name, but the blooms are huge- as large as a desert plate, if not a dinner one.

One more:

Yesterday, the high temperature was 80�. I was fighting some kind of stomach virus and felt like crap all day. I tried to cook dinner on the grill, but wasn't able to finish all we had planned due to nausea and breaking out in a cold sweat.

Made it to work this morning (no sense wasting a sick day when you feel this mediocre, right), and am feeling better as I type this.

Oh yeah- the high today was 71�. At 1:54 am, according to the National Weather Service. The mercury dropped all day, and it is resting at 50� as I type this.

What an odd, cold spring this has been. It's no wonder so many people I know have been sick this month....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top