Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jun. 05, 2008 - 9:53 p.m.

Mother Nature is a bitch (no, seriously!)


As an aside- my boy is getting married this weekend!

So...the next few photos I post will be from that event.

Until then? A true tale from my life....

Found this Robin's nest at work today. I am not sure if the bird built it on this tarp (which is lying on the ground by the salt dome), or if someone moved the nest from the wheel well of a truck so that they could drive it (most likely- this happens ever summer).

I'll keep an eye on it. If anything hatches, I'll snap a few photo later.



And then this:


The guys at work noticed that this mama Robin had built her nest right in the middle of the grill of our old fork tractor a couple of weeks ago. I brought my camera to work last Friday and shot a few photos of her, getting as close as I could before she bolted from the nest. This is the last one I took.

I ended up getting in an argument with our mechanic over running this tractor. Since we were all stranded in the yard due to lack of funds (long winter used up our budget, our governor is a complete tool, so no extra money= everyone stuck in the yard painting equipment and such...but I digress).

He said it needed a new battery.

I said we didn't need to use the tractor for anything since we couldn't do anything with it anyway.

He fumed.

I didn't care.

Since I also had a pack of "DO NOT OPERATE" tags, I put one on the steering wheel. Took the keys out of the ignition.

Effectively killed the tractor.

Some of my co-workers thought I was being stupid. What's one more nest of Robins anyway?

That's not the point. This bird made an effort to raise her young in an odd place, but she did her best. Since so many Robins build nests in bad places in our storage every year (see my last photo upload), I just decided to do my best to give this bird a chance.

And on Monday, I was blessed with the sight of three baby robins, craining their heads skywards looking for food. this, after I walked close enough to the tractor to get mama Robin to fly a few feet away. I forgot to bring my camera to work Monday, so I didn't get any photos then.

No problem, right? Just take the camera in my lunchbox on Tuesday, shoot a few photos. What could go wrong?

How about 4+ inches of rain overnight Monday into Tuesday morning?

That's right- 4+ inches of HEAVY rain.

She was still sitting on the nest first thing Tuesday morning. I approached her slowly, giving her a chance to fly away.

Once she did, my worst fears were realized. All three babies had died overnight. The rain must have just overwhelmed them, causing them to drown.

I felt like I had been punched in the stomach. Here I angered our shop mechanic over something as small as a bird's nest., and the rain had ruined it in a matter of moments.

It even bummed out most of my co-workers, too. Nature sure can be a bitch.

Mama Robin kept vigil on the nest through the afternoon. I checked on the nest a couple of times, hoping to see that I was wrong. I wasn't.

Some of the guys said I should just remove the nest so the mama would move on. I wanted to let nature take its course.

It did.

When I checked the nest just before we went home, mama had left. The babies were also gone- no doubt taken by blackbirds or some other scavenger as their afternoon meal.

Like I said- nature is a bitch.

So after all this turmoil and infighting- nothing.

There are several more nests with Robin's eggs in them around the storage. Maybe one or two will end up producing baby birds for this year.

After all this, I just wish they would pick one of the 50 or so trees in the back lot to build their nest. That way, I don't have to see the sorry side of the circle of life too closely the next time....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top