Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jun. 23, 2008 - 8:30 p.m.

Goodbye, George Carlin...


Sad news this morning- George Carlin died of an heart attack late Sunday. He was 71 years old, but his internal organs must have been closer to 90 with all the cocaine he ingested back in the 60's and 70's.

Lease and I saw him perform here in the one time he made it Mohall- I think it was the early 1990's. Before he became so damn cynical, he was still spending most of his routine working oddities of the English language into bits, along with his "stuff you pack" and "baseball vs. football" bits.

After his wife passed away from cancer in the late 1990's, his comedy took a much darker turn. He was far more bitter and more agnostic, which turned many people off (including Lease) I still got what he was doing, and found that I agreed with him far more often than not.

And now he's gone.

But that's not all...

A couple of really odd things happened involving George and myself today (stick with me- you'll see what I mean ;-)

When I woke up this morning, I didn't know about his passing. I went over to my dressing area in the bedroom and noticed that we hadn't put anything there but my jeans. I grabbed some underwear from the chest of drawers, and then grabbed a random t-shirt from my closet.

The front of the t-shirt read "Sarcasm is just one of my talents".

Spooky, huh? No comedian was ever more sarcastic the George. My sarcastic sense of humor is probably rooted in all the times I have watched and listened to his material. Forget probably- I know it is.

And then...

I was reading the Chicago Tribune editorial pages at lunchtime, and in the usual cartoon space was a one-panel that read "The new 7 words you can't say in America", with a drawing of crusty old George saying "Americans are using too @*&% much oil", (or something to that effect) with a bunch of people recoiling in shock, car keys in their hands, in the background . No way this cartoon gets printed tomorrow, but the paper had already gone to print before the news of his death had been released.

For someone who constantly professed that he didn't believe in God or an afterlife? Pretty freaky (IMHO).

No, he would just say it was a fucking coincidence, and nothing more....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top