Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jul. 07, 2008 - 9:30 p.m.

Baby robin's nest at work, take two...

Yes, the robins made it. Here is the order in which the eggs hatched, all between Tuesday July 1st and late Wednesday, July 2nd:

We had a heavy rainfall Wednesday night , so I feared the worst when I approached the nest Thursday morning:

They were wet, but the mother robin had shielded them well enough overnight to keep them from drowning.

When I checked back later that afternoon, the babies had already gone into "feed me!" mode:


After a eventful 3 day weekend (too much to write here at this time- maybe later?), I returned to work this morning wondering what I might find. Another night of heavy rain meant they could have perished.

When I first approached the nest, I saw the mother robin was completely covering the nest:

After giving her a few seconds to fly off after food, I quickly shot the following photos:

Major changes in just 4 days! The last photo, with the tiny pin feathers just starting to show, makes them look more like baby dinosaurs than birds (IMHO).

I had one guy at work ask me why I am worried about a simple robin's nest. I just think it is cool that I have such a great location for taking photographs this up-close , and to see nature develop in front of me each day. Yes, I shot a series of baby robin photos in another nest on my garden's grape vine 2 or 3 years ago. The tangle of vines made it hard to get this close, though. The location she picked for this nest makes it easy to get very close to the action.

The mother robin still isn't happy about my appearance, but if I thought she would abandon her nest I wouldn't be taking this photos. She always returns to the nest within seconds of my leaving the area, so I think she has just accepted my annoyance and goes about her business.

(Hopefully) more photos to come in the next few days.....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top