Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Nov. 05, 2008 - 8:33 p.m.

"Pink and blue sky at night, Sailor's?"

Unusual sunset viewed from our back patio, a couple of weeks ago:

All of those black walnuts ended up on the ground below the tree. I spent 1 hour and 40 minutes yesterday picking up these walnuts. this had to be done on my hands and knees since these things do not gather easily with a rake and end up buried in the grass. I ended up gathering over 16 5-gallon buckets full of these slimy, stinky rotting nuts. They are now in a pile in the alley, awaiting either being carried off by the tree rats or completely decomposing over the next few years.

This tree HAS to be cut down this winter. I have said this for the last 14 years( the trash it produces is just part of the problem- it also produces a natural herbicide called jugalone that kills many plants, including all of the nightshade family. Tomatoes, peppers, and eggplants are from the nightshade family, so you can see what my problem is), but this year's harvest was the final straw. I have to pay a repairman $1,500 to $2,000 to get our sewer connection dug up and reattached next week- another unexpected repair that can't be avoided.

So... the tree will have to wait until I see what kind of overtime I might get this winter. Even without an hour of overtime, this tree will hit the ground and end up in my wood pile before the first buds appear on or tree next spring....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top