Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jun. 10, 2002 - 8:30 p.m.

A question with an answer that might surprise you, but not much else worth writing about today�

First things first: I read this little bit of useless information today in the local weekly newspaper. See if you can figure it out without scanning to the end of my entry.

�Worldwide, which company manufactured the most tires last year?�

I will only give you one hint: They made 330 million of them in 2001.

Think about it�.


I woke up this morning around 4 am with a splitting headache. I don�t do that very often, but when it happens I would be better off just getting out of bed and forgetting the rest of the night�s sleep.

I tossed and turned until Lease�s alarm went off at 5:30. I tried to do the usual to get my last hour of sleep (earplugs and turning the fan up), but all I did was check out the clock every 5 minutes or so.

No, I didn�t tie one on last night. I did drink a little wine with supper, and had a glass while I wrote my entry, but not enough to bring on a hangover migraine.

And no, I have no idea what brought this on. I took a dose of Advil� when I started my morning, and another one around noon.

Whatever the cause, I am now headache-free.

I�m looking forward to a full night of sleep, too�..


I had to stop at the local Osco drug on the way home from work tonight. I have been using up the Previcid� tablets that the stomach doctor gave me as samples, but I was down to only one more dose. Since this is a rather costly drug (over $100 American per month, if you don�t have insurance) my carrier penalizes us for not talking our doctor into a cheaper drug. Instead of $24 co-pay, I get hit with $48 for a month�s supply.

It didn�t work out that way this time, though. The doctor filled the prescription for 60 pills, even though he only wants me to take one per day. I think he did that in case he wants to try one in the morning, one in the evening, but if I keep taking them one per day I get the prescription filled for half-price.

Now, I ask you: am I morally obligated to tell the pharmacist that it works out to a two-month supply? I paid my co-pay; the insurance will pick up the remainder of the cost. My insurance has raised my co-pay (in the last 4 years) from first $7, then $12, and then $18, and now $24 for non-prime drugs and $48 for premium ones.

I�m just wondering what you would do in this situation. There is always the possibility that he will have me switch off of the Zantac� in the evening and to the two-a-day Previcid� at any given time (such as if my stomach starts acting up again. It�s pretty good right now with the present setup, thanks for asking).

Don�t you just hate a moral dilemma?


I had time to kill while they filled the prescription, so I checked out what was left of Osco�s garden center. The signboard out front said �Final reductions on all remaining stock�.

They weren�t kidding.

Now, much of what was left was a little worse for wear, having survived countless weather extremes since the stuff was unloaded early in May. Anything of any real value (shrubs, hostas, and perennials) were long gone. All they had left werea bunch of 6-packs of annuals (most with a cell or two missing plants, long dead and gone), and some geraniums and other premium annuals.

I picked over what they had and came away with some real bargains.

How low had they marked the prices on this motley assortment? The 6-packs were down to .93 cents (I have no idea where that figure came from), and then, on top of that they had them marked �buy one, get one free�. I found four packets that still had all 6 plants (red and a color they called �water melon� impatiens, and some mixed begonias). I also found two healthy Gerbera daisy plants at $1.04 with the same B.O.G.O.F. deal. They were originally priced at $2.98!

I added 26 plants to fill a few holes in the beds for a total cost (tax included) of $2.97!

I love finding bargains like these. In my mind this makes up for the money I had to spend replacing my frost-killed tomatoes and peppers last month�..


O.k., the answer to the question about tires:

The answer is LEGO! They made all 330 million tires last year for the various kits and assortments that end up on most adolescent boys and girls bedroom floor, waiting for a parent to step on them at 3 in the morning.

I wouldn�t have minded finding a tiny rubber tire with my foot, but it was always one of those pointy pieces that ended up imbedded on my sole��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top