Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Jul. 30, 2002 - 8:46 p.m.

Movin� to the country, gonna eat me a lotta peaches�

Yeah, you know the song.

Sure you do. Mid-90�s? Squished a rotten peach in my fist?

Just remember this important fact:

Peaches come from a can/they were put there by a man/ in a factory downtown�..

Anyway�.

I processed all the fine semi-squishy peaches into canned goods tonight.

The white peaches were just enough for a batch of jam. The color is unlike anything you have seen before- a very light shade of pink, due to the blush coloring in the ripe fruit. Not a hint of the usual orangey-yellow you get with regular peaches.

The taste is unique, too. Very sweet, peachy with hints of cherries and campaign.

Trust me on this.

Since I had to boil water (to free the pulp from the skin- one minute in boiling water, dunk the fruit into cold water, let rest. A few minutes later, the skin literally peals off the fruit better than a ripe banana) for the jam, I went ahead and did all the Elbertas, too.

These were made into peach salsa (that ought to get me a bunch more Google on the subject). This batch turned out quite hot, which is how I like it.

I used a handful of Tri-fetti peppers for the heat. Since my Habenero and Serrano peppers are so far behind this summer, they were the only source of heat available to me. They did the job well.

I also forgot to harvest a few of my red onions (which are still growing in the work garden) for this batch. No problem. I just used some of the Walla Wallas that I have in storage.

All the red onions do is add color, anyway. Better to have less color but more flavor, right?


More boring gardening news:

I dug up the rest of my Yukon Gold potatoes this morning, and planted green beans ('Masai'-a bush bean) and a hill of Yellow Squash (don�t remember the variety, but it�s done well so far this summer. Wait, now I remember-Gold Rush) in the vacated spot.

Land doesn�t lie fallow long in my gardens.

The potatoes were disappointing this year. They started out fine, but the dry weather came at the time when the plants were setting their tubers. Hence, small potatoes.

I might have had a total of 50 lbs. of spuds from my planting this spring. That is only about half of what I usually get from my efforts.

I talked to our winter hourly last night (Jimmy Snow), and even though his garden is located 10 miles south of mine, he has had about the same results. Since he doesn�t water his garden (except in extreme drought. He said he watered parts of it only once in June!), he has had even less luck than me. His peaches are only the size of silver dollars.

At least he doesn�t have squirrels. He lives in the middle of farmland. Not a lot of hedgerows for the tree rats to live in out there�.


The vacation plans are starting to round out.

Tonight, I lined up a 5-hour trip on a Lake Michigan charter fishing boat.

We have to be at the dock at 4:30 in the morning.

There are only two time I ever see 4:30 in the morning: when I am out plowing snow in the winter, and when I get up to empty my �old man�s bladder�.

This will be interesting�.


One minor problem with our plans: The only day the boat was available was the day after we had tickets for a Wisconsin Tiber Rattlers baseball game. I called the ballclub, hoping to switch the tickets to another day. Since our seats were being held at the will call window, there shouldn�t be any problem, right?

No go.

The person I talked to on the phone said he couldn�t switch our dates. I could turn them in for general admission tickets, pay another $3.50 to upgrade back to where I had originally bought seats.

That, or just eat the tickets.

Folks, is this smart business management?

I told him I would just have to eat the tickets, meaning that he made the $20 or so we paid for the seats but loosing the parking and revenue they would have received from us inside the park.

That is always more than you pay for the seats. Hell-three hot dogs and Pepsis cost more than $20!

I guess we will eat the $20 we paid for the seats, and they will lose the money they would have made off of us otherwise.

I guess they don�t care about the customers, after they get their money?


Final update on the baseball tickets:

Lease couldn�t believe what the guy told me, so she called them back.

Asked for the manager.

She told him about my conversation. He agreed to switch them to the next day, but went out of his way to remind her of their �no exchange� policy.

Like it will ever come up for us again in the future?

That means (on Wednesday the 14th) that we will be on Lake Michigan at sunrise (Codeman and I-Lease don�t want to go on this part of the adventure), catch a nap at the hotel that afternoon, and then drive to the ballpark for a 7:30 first pitch.

I think we might sleep in on Thursday�����

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top