Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Nov. 17, 2002 - 6:49 p.m.

HAPPY TURKEY DAY!�.

Yeah, I know: I am a little early here.

You want an explanation? O.K., here it is�.

Last week, Lease won a contest at work. She said it had to do with % of her sales (or something like that), but she wasn�t sure what it was actually for. It was free- that�s what mattered.

Her prize? A Butterball� hen turkey (14 pounds)!

Yeah!

A turkey!

It�s not like every store in town isn�t practically giving them away this time of year, is it? (.49 cents a pound at Kroger this week)

No, we aren�t the type to complain about a free gift. But there was one little problem with this one.

When they brought it to her at work, it was almost completely defrosted.

I don�t know if somebody was carrying it around in the trunk of their Chevrolet Cavalier for a few days or what, but it was soft to the touch when she brought it home on Thursday.

Since one of the things the home economists have preached for years is NEVER REFREEZE THAWED POULTRY!!!, we decided that today would be they day it became a meal.

It would have been nice to have it for Thanksgiving (a week from this Thursday), but Jules is cooking the bird for that occasion anyway. Now was as good a time as any to cook one for us.

I cooked it the way I always do:

1. Rinse all of the ice from the cavity.

2. Using my fingers, I pushed the skin back to the edges. After piercing the flesh of the breast and legs, I shoved a mixture of olive oil, garlic, poultry seasoning, sage, Cajun spices mix, and cayenne pepper into the opening.

3. Spray the entire outside of the bird with butter-flavored Pam� to brown.

4. Cook at 325� for the prescribed amount of time. Check the internal temperature with a thermometer (it has �poultry� as one of it�s measurements).

5. Allow to cool for about 15 minutes (under foil), carve, and then serve.

Since Lease is STILL a little puny (she did feel better today- thanks to all who wished her well or asked how she was doing;), turkey made a good dinner for her upset tummy. She managed to eat a portion of breast meat, along with some bread I made earlier (we ate about half a loaf of this Italian bread by ourselves), and a small mound of mashed potatoes.

It all settled, so that is a good sign. She had decided that if she is no better by tomorrow morning, she would visit the doctor.

That is a major step for her, btw.

I can�t get her to go to the MD unless she is really sick. She has a phobia about them, and nothing I or anyone else says to her will change her of her ways. This is another thing I think I can rightly blame on her mother. That woman always took the girls to the cheapest quack she could find. No wonder they all have an aversion to medical care (and two of them ended up working as RN�s, too).

So hopefully she has kicked this bug.

Tomorrow morning, we will know for sure�.


Since there wasn�t mush else to do today, I spent it in front of both the stove and the TV (watching the Packers loose to the lowly Vikings? What's up with that? I decide to hitch myself to the Green Bay bandwagon, and they can't beat the only team as bad as my Bears in the NFC cental! Sorry, Weetabix ,I won't pull for them any more until the playoffs start!).

I canned up a batch of Oriental Plum sauce. I found a recipe for this last week in a cooking magazine. It sounded both easy (it was) and tasty (ditto).

I found a good price on dark purple plums at Sam�s Club� yesterday ($3.98 for a 4 lb. Bag), so it was a good time to try this recipe.

It made 9 half-pints, so they worked out to less than .50 cents a jar.

That was the good news.

The bad?

Right after I finished sealing the jars and plopping them into the water bath, I was working on the bread I heard two sounds I don�t want to hear while canning anything.

The first sound I head was a crisp �POP�.

The second sound was a clattering sound coming from the canning pot.

That could only mean one thing: a jar had ruptured.

It had.

Whenever you use old canning jars, this is a concern. People use butter knives to scrape the last of 'whatever' out of the jar, causing tiny nicks and scrapes to the bottom of the jar. Usually this isn�t a problem. But every once and a while, the jar is weekend enough to cause it to crack once it�s under the pressure or heat of canning.

That�s what happened today. The contents of the jar leaked out into the water bath, creating a nasty mess. I had to remove the jars from the now-purple water, rinse the pot out, and add fresh hot water. It took another 15 minutes to bring it back to a boil. Once that happened, I added the Plum Sauce to the pot and started the timer once again.

This batch of sauce took me about 3 hours from start to finish. All the remaining jars sealed, so that�s good.

How does it taste?

Pretty damn good, if you ask me.

Now, if I can just find a local source for the plums. If they would be free, that would be even better���..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top