Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Nov. 29, 2002 - 11:13 p.m.

If you wanna sell a lot of magazines, put a dog, a child, or a pretty woman on the front cover��( oh yeah, and a guest posting from Lease!)�

(looonnnnggg entry ahead- you have been forewarned!)

I think William Randolph Hurst was credited with that statement, but I�m not sure.

I remember a National Lampoon magazine cover with the above quote on the top banner, and a photo of a baby in a high chair, laughing; a woman, smiling, in an apron carrying a platter. On the platter is a cooked dog with an apple in its mouth.

Sick, but funny.

If you aren�t old enough to remember the old National Lampoon magazine, he is my take on it:

Funny some of the time, disgusting the rest of the time, and almost always worth the cost to purchase.

Anyway�..

I�m not here to sell magazines, but I have photos of a baby for you anyway.

The baby in question is , of course, my grand-niece Riley. Her mom and dad stopped by for Thanksgiving dinner yesterday, and we ended up babysitting. Here dad had to stop by his family�s dinner after ours, and he didn�t want to expose little Riley to a house full of cigarette smoke (everyone in his family but him are smokers). We offered to watch her for a little while (which ended up being about 5 hours, but who�s counting?) so they could visit without worry.

Of course, the camera was out during the visit.

I took the first photo as I held her in my hands. She was fascinated by the camera, and was an easy subject to shoot:

Yes, her eyes are really that shade gray. I only removed the red-eye. I didn�t change the color of her iris�


Photo #2 is of her sitting on Lease�s lap. Jules and Lease were playing with Riley, a game of hide and seek with their hands. I shot the photo without a flash. That would be why some of the photo is blurred, appearing out of focus:


The last shot is of riley and me, taken in the hall mirror. I really don�t think Riley is flipping me the bird, but several people have told me that is what it looks like:

Is it possible that my 6-month-old grand-niece was trying to tell me what she thought of my babysitting skills?


Codeman and I made it to Collegetown to watch a high-school championship football game today.

I said �a� game, because there are something like 8 or 10 �classes� here in North Dakota.

The game we watched was the 2A game, and it turned out to be a very good game. We chose to sit on the west side of the stadium, only because of the strong wind that was blowing out that direction. When the game has two teams we don�t care about, we chose comfort.

The fans on our side were fans of the Dragons, and the fell behind 34-16 after the �Blue Boys� (how�s that for a crummy team nickname?) scored their last touchdown with 8 minutes to go in the game.

That should have been a big enough lead to win ANY football game, but the Dragons managed to score the18 points, capping off the scoring with a touchdown with 32 seconds to go to tie the game at 34 each.

Then, the Dragon�s coach became too smart for his own good. He had his team run a fake extra point kick, and the holder was caught for a loss. A simple extra point would have won the game, and he tried for a two? Crazy!

The Blue Boys managed to drive down to the Dragon 30 with 2 seconds to go, and the Blue Boys quarterback threw a pass into the end zone for the apparent winning touchdown as the clock ran out.

One problem: a yellow flag sat on the field.

Holding against the Blue Boys.

Touchdown void.

But in high school football, the game doesn�t end on a penalty. One more play, no clock.

The Blue Boys quarterback was sacked for a loss.

Overtime.

The Blue Boys received the ball first (on the 10 yard line) and scored on their first play for scrimmage. They attempted two-point conversion was no good.

The Dragons took all four downs to score, but managed to cross the line on fourth down. The coach then did the right thing, and gave his kicker the chance to win the game with an extra point.

Right through the crossbars. Final score: Dragons 41, Blue Boys 40.

Best state championship game that Codeman and I have seen in about 10 years. Didn�t care who won when we walked into the stadium, and we left happy for the fans (that sat in our section) after their team won.

Codeman and I have made it to Collegetown for about 10 of the last 13 years to watch a game. Winter weather canceled our plans the other 3 times. I started doing this when he was only about 4 years old. We have only had a local team to pull for a couple of times, but we always have fun�.


It�s been a while, but Lease has asked me to turn over this �journal� to her so she could tell you what is up in her world.

So, without further ado, here�s Lease�.

Hi guys this is Lease. To anybody that read his entry tonight I just wanted to say if you ever see the MasterCard commercials that say �ball game tickets ten dollars, foam finger ten dollars, memories �priceless�, this is so roadiepig and son�he is and always will be a good father figure..to reiterate ..last night was Thanksgiving. We had a lot of people here, and a lot of new family memories. But the most important to me was roadiepig again being the greatest uncle of all..to any who read one of my few guest entries out there. You are aware of how I was feeling being now the �greatest aunt� of all? Well, that�s nothing compared to seeing roadiepig with his next generation�she loved him. I was not sure when she cried what she wanted me to do. He picked her up, held her and walked her, talked to her, laughed with her, even took pictures with her. I fell in love all over again and she fell in love for the first time with greatest uncle Roadiepig�check out Roadiepig�s pictures .I hope he posts my favorite (both of them) in the mirror. Well, its time to go. Love to all- Lease

I have to get her to start writing her own diary. I have tried (and she read what y�all wrote in my g-book the last time she wrote something here), but she doesn�t want to write that often. Maybe someday���

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top