Today's music?

Cody Lee - "Living Stereo" (2001 - Stomp Box Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, May. 13, 2003 - 10:40 p.m.

Busy day�. with a few twists on the norm (teasing fish included)���

How was today �twisted�?

How about this: we finally got around to doing a little grocery shopping at Wallyworld. We were out of the following- Milk, dog food, eggs, orange juice, lunchmeat, greasy processed snack foods, and Diet Mt. Dew.

I can do without most of the things on the list, but there is no way I can make it very long without Diet Mt. Dew.

The last time we actually went grocery shopping was around 12 days ago. That is too long to go without restocking the staples in our household.

Anyway�.

We filled our cart, and left Wallyworld around 9:15.

P.M.

Crazy, no?

Hey, it was tonight, or wait until Thursday.

And, like I said: the Mt. Dew stockpile had run dry, so��


What else did we do today? (Weekday #2 of our spring �work/vacation�)

We woke up early (7 am- hey, we�re on vacation, remember?)

Threw ourselves together, and loaded up the Hillbilly truck with fishing supplies.

We also took the Hillbilly boat with us. This is always an adventure, since I never know if it will sink on us on any given trip.

It didn�t today.

I had to buy a new tire for the trailer yesterday, though. I noticed that the sidewalls on one of the cheap ($15.27 , including a new white spoked wheel at Farm and fleet!) tires was badly cracked. I never wear one of these tires out. They just seem to die of old age every so often. I think this tire was around 10 years old. That is a long time for a tire to spend 99.9% of its life sitting in one spot on a pile off wood chips.

The last time I ignored a crack sidewall, Codeman and I made it about � a mile form our house before it blew up. We ended up fishing the bank that day.

So, anyway�..

We drove to the Nuclear Power Plant Lake this morning, and were on the water by 10 am. Not bad, considering I had to stop at the local Auto Zone and replace the bulb in one of the trailer brake lights (like I said- never know what will go wrong next with this boat).

We did all right, considering how much rain we have experienced here recently. We caught the following (Lease kept track for the Hell of it): 9 crappie, 18 bluegill, 3 small largemouth bass, 4 green sunfish, and one very nice channel catfish.

We both can take credit for the catfish. Lease hooked it, and then realized it was a large fish. Anytime she hooks anything big, she freaks. She practically ran to the back of the boat, and handed me the rod. I fought it to the boat, and then slipped her into the net.

I say her, because the catfish was very heavy with eggs. Since they haven�t spawned yet, I couldn�t keep her with a clear conscience. Since this catfish would easily top the scale at 4 pounds, that means she might have had 16,000 eggs inside of her body (according to a web page I found that mentions 4,000 eggs per pound of catfish, but I am sure you aren�t that interested in my research ;)

You might have noticed this pattern in my �journal� by now- if I keep fish for the skillet; it usually isn�t this time of year. I just don�t feel right cleaning a mess of fish, and finding that they are filled with eggs. This is counter-productive, if you want to see the fishery of your favorite lake stay viable.

I do keep my share of fish, but mainly during the cooler months of the year. The fish just taste better when caught in cold water, and I don�t mess up the reproduction of the species this way, either.

Bluegills? The rules don�t apply to this species. If you don�t do what you can to thin the population of this (tasty) species, they will over-populate a body of water quickly. All you end up with is a bunch of stunted little fish. So I keep them year-round, if I feel like it. We could have kept 10 or so today, but I didn�t think I wanted to mess with them because�.


Codeman�s team had another baseball game tonight. Only 4 more this week!

They played at the college field of the division III school from Flowertown. A very nice ballpark, and a beautiful spring evening for a ballgame, too.

Unfortunately for our ball club, they lost again. Codeman didn�t play (�natch), and the game ended 3-1.

Set a new record for �shortest game of Codeman�s high school career�, too. One hour, 19 minutes.

We barely had time to warm our seats, and the game was over.

Oh well- no 20 win season this year for Codeman�s wonderful coach.

All together now- Awwwwww!

Breaks my heart, I have to tell you�.


I need to get some sleep. Tomorrow is �paint the closets day�, after Lease empties them out. I also plan on mounting a few new wire-mesh shelves in a couple of them.

Domestic life can be so exciting sometimes, don�t you think?

I�ll leave you with a link:

This just has to be seen to be believed.

This is the last frontier of Extreme sports, if you ask me�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top