Today's music?

V Shape Mind - "Cul-de-sac" (2003 - Republic/Universal Records)...Interesting new hard rock band from Central Illinois(?)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2003 - 5:30 p.m.

Photos of my big fat gourd�plus- very little writing! Yeah!

I decided it was time to harvest my big pumpkin. The squash bugs have been coming on strong the past week or so, spurred on by the still-dry weather. They had drilled a few small holes into the rind of this fruit, and I didn�t want to wait until they drilled deep enough to start it decomposing:

Yes, that is the seat belt, holding it in place. The thing is tall and top heavy, and I didn�t want to take the chance of it falling over, rupturing its innards all over the floorboard of Lease�s car (took it this morning to get its oil changed after work tonight).

How big is it? I didn�t weigh or measure it, but it is definitely the largest pumpkin I have ever grown. I grew it at the storage, so it wasn�t pampered like those giants you see getting weighed at fairs this time of year. You know the ones I am talking about- they have to use a fork truck to lift them onto the scale?

Not that variety (Dill�s Atlantic Giant- which routinely grow over 1000 pounds!).

This one is a Northrup King variety, the name of which I have already forgotten (Big Max, maybe?). I have planted these squash before, but none have ever grown this large. If I had to guess, I would peg this one at 35-50 pounds. Heavy enough to make me bend at the knees to lift it, anyway.

Here is another shot, to put things in scale:

The little pumpkin in the front is Baby Bear, a variety that only grows the size of softballs. The one the size in-between is Triple Treat, a pie pumpkin. It is also supposed to have hull less seeds, meaning that they can be roasted and eaten without having to remove the tough, white shell (there is none).

My pumpkin and gourd vines are nearly dead now, so I will be hauling home more of these winter storage vegetables in the next few weeks. I have a bunch of acorn squash this fall, and a few butternuts too. I also have a new, multi-colored acorn type that set a ton of nice fruit this summer. I will try to post a photo of them when I bring them home- they are really bright and �fall colored�.


Gotta run- I think somebody has planned a �surprise� for me tonight, and I need to get cleaned up����

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top