Today's music?

Maroon 5 - "Songs About Jane" (2003- J Records L.L.C.)... Picked it up today, because I love the song "Harder to Breathe"...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Oct. 04, 2003 - 9:47 p.m.

The following links helped clear my mind, after watching the Cubs-Braves game today�

Yeah, I haven�t written about it, but I have been watching the yo-yo series between the Cubs (my team, the blame of my father) and the Braves (their fans should really be ashamed for doing that stupid �tomahawk chop� crap)..

Last night, I enjoyed the masterful pitching performance by Mark Prior. Hard to believe that he is only 23 years old. If he stays healthy, he could be one of the all-time greats.

Today, I watched most of the game, won by the Native American mascots 6-4. In every inning but the 1st, the Braves had runners on base. The Cubs had almost as many chances to score, too. That added up to a 3 and one-half hour, sludge in the sewer pace of a game.

I had to find some way to remove the images from my mind (Sammy Sosa hit a ball to the warning track for the last out. 2 more feet, and the game would have been tied�.damn curse of the Billy Goat Tavern!)

I went to my computer, and checked my email. As I was reading the most recent addition of Tourbus (a newsletter I have recommended before here- full of computer information for non-geeks), I came across the following links:

The first one was described by the author of the newsletter (Patrick Douglas Crispen) as, "The infinite interaction between nocturnal, burrowing plantigrade quadrupeds (Meles vulgaris), the macroscopic fruiting bodies of fungi, and a limbless vertebrate from the reptilian order Ophidia"

The other one is , �The appropriate time (according to the fruit of a Musa sapientum) to consume a paste made with the ground fruit or seed of Arachis hypogaea combined with fruit juice thickened into a semitransparent, homogeneous consistence"

After watching both of these Flash-animated shorts, over and over again, I was finally able to remove the stain that the loss had placed onto my brain.

Please don�t hate me for sending you to these websites.

Someday, when you need to clear your mind of some horrible image, you can go back to one of these sites. A few minutes watching either should do the trick for almost everything�..


I will not spend my Sunday watching the Bears loose again tomorrow.

The forecasted high is 74�, with light winds. If I can�t drag myself out of here and to B.A.C.E. lake for some White bass fishing, I will start the process of removing all of the frost-killed plants from my vegetable beds.

I will plop a tape into the VCR in the basement to record the game.

Just in case they pull off a miracle and somehow win a game.

But I won�t sit in front of the television, vegetating all day.

No, I won�t do that until about 7 pm. That�s when the Cubs continue their tradition of ripping the beating hearts out of the chests of their loyal fans.

The game is in Atlanta. Kerry Woods will try to win his second game in Turner Field in less than a week.

Carnivale is on HBO at 8 pm. By then, I will probably be ready to watch something else.

I am not a pessimist.

I am a lifetime Cubs fan.

A fan of a baseball team that has made the playoffs 4 times in my 42 years on this planet (1984, 1989,1998, 2003)

A fan of the team that hasn�t been in the World Series sine 1945 (58 long years ago)

A fan of a baseball team that hasn�t won a post-season series since they actually won the World Series in 1908.

1908.

If there is anyone left alive in this country that remembers that series, they have to be over 100 years old. I doubt they could tell you much about the win over the Detroit tigers back then, though- the few rare people who make it to that age have trouble remembering what they ate for breakfast���..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top