Today's music?

Nothing...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Oct. 15, 2003 - 5:29 p.m.

Repeat after me; �It�s just a ballgame. It�s just a ballgame��

No, I didn�t have a massive coronary last night after the Cubs gave up 8 runs in the top of the 8th to blow a 3-0 lead.

Cursed a lot, yes. Wanted to personally give a baseball the bozo fan that kept Moises Alou from catching what would have been the 2nd out of the inning (the batter then walked, scoring a couple of batters later). Personally, as in throwing one at him from about 5 feet away.

But I just kept remembering what my Dad told me, years ago (and reminded me again today) �It�s just a ballgame. It�s played by kids for fun, and by adults for way too much money. They don�t say �Let�s go work baseball�, do they. You play baseball.�

So if the Cubs managed to win or loose the deciding game tonight, it won�t change my life one bit. I won�t walk around like a strutting rooster if the make it to the World Series. And I won�t put a pistol to my head if the loose.

It�s just a game.

Well, maybe not for some of fanatical Cardinal fans I work around and associate with in my life . These rare individuals seem to derive their self-worth on how well their team is playing. That, and that the Cuds (and therefore, their fans) are losers.

I swear, a couple of them had wet spots in their pants this morning. The collapse that befell the Cubs last night made them far happier than any Cardinal win would have done for them.

I guess when your team, known as one of the best baseball franchises ever, hasn�t won a World Series themselves since 1982, you have to get your enjoyment out of other people�s misery?


Will I watch the game tonight?

Some of it.

I won�t spend the entire evening glued to my 27�, that�s for sure.

Lease and I have a little weekend getaway to prepare for, and I plan on helping her do so.

Especially when the Marlins are up to bat. I don�t think I can stand watching them score the runs they will to upset Cub fans around the nation��


Is that a prediction, Roadiepig?

Yes, I guess it is.

After that deflating loss last night, it will be hard for Dusty Baker to get the boys back up. His Giants team did almost the same thing last year in the World Series. They were 4 outs from winning it all in game 6 (The Cubs were 5 outs from winning the NLCS last night), when they blew a big lead and lost the game. They also lost game 7, going home the second place team.

I think that the Cubs have a shot, if they score early and often. But the longer they go without scoring, or the more times the Marlins cross the plate early in the game, the more pressure will be on their backs. Fox might run out of Cubs past failure highlights to show by the 5th inning, but I imagine they are secretly hoping that the Cubs win. The ratings for a Cubs/Yankees or Cubs/ Red Sox World Series would be through he roof.

But I expect the worst (I am a life-long Cubs fan after all- I have plenty of experience with the worst).

Marlins win, 7-2. Kerry Woods takes a baseball bat to the clubhouse urinal, just like St. Louis Cardinal�s pitcher Joaquin Andujar did, after blowing game 7 of the 1985 World Series.

.

.

.

I just hope I am wrong�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top