Today's music?

The Darkness - "Permission to Land" (2003- Atlantic Records)..FINALLY- getting some good press in Americ-check them out, if yo



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Feb. 16, 2004 - 4:57 p.m.

Happy Martin Van Buren Day!�.plus- I may be hardheaded, but it earned me a small mess of fish

Yes, I was off again today. President�s Day and all.

From the number of people I saw at N.P.P. Lake, I would guess more than a few others got this holiday off, too. So I don�t feel as guilty about this on off as I do Lincoln�s Birthday.

Anyway�.

As I have in the past, I use this holiday to reflect on some of our �lesser� presidents. Lesser describes Martin Van Buren, the eighth president of the United States pretty well. He might havew been the shortest president (5�6� tall won�t get you elected to the office nowadays), and his policies in office brought the country into the worst recession the country had faced at that point in time.

Click on the link, and read why your history teachers didn�t waste any of your time teaching you about this loser..


So I went fishing again.

First time since I went on M.L. King day last month. The conditions weren�t as bad as they were that day (single digit cold, strong winds from the North), but were actually more challenging from a fishing standpoint.

Why, you might ask?

Two very big differences.

1.The nuclear power plant (the �N�, �P�, and �P� in the lake�s name) has been shut down for about 3 weeks. I didn�t even know this, but quickly found out when I pulled up to the bridge I usually fish. There was a skim of ice covering most of the shoreline, leaving only a small opening near the actual bridge deck.

I fished this area for about 30 minutes, with no strikes at all. That makes this location 0-2 in my last two trips.

I headed over to the other bridge; with a stop at the only bait shop in the area on the way. That is when I found out about the shutdown. Since the plant is of the nuclear variety, this has to be done every few years . Maintenance, they call it.

I figure this is when the package up all of their waste into 55 gallon drums and sink it in the lake.

Just a guess�.

So the water has had 3 weeks of the coldest weather of the year to cool down from the somewhat balmy 60� it was in January to the point where most of it is now frozen. A couple more days of cold weather, and the whole lake will be unfishable without an ice auger (which I don�t have).

Most of the fish in the lake haven�t had to live in such cold water since they hatched out of their eggs. The last shutdown took place over the summer months, so it has been about 5 or 6 years since this job was done in the cold months.

2. Along with the colder temperatures, the growth of algae and other water plants slows down. This drops the oxygen level of the lake drastically. A body of water teaming with a large fish population needs photosynthesis to take place to keep them healthy. Without this action, fish start to die.

The first fish to die locally is always Gizzard shad. They can�t take a sudden drop in either temperature or oxygen, both of which have happened in the last few weeks. Their dead carcasses are littering the shoreline. They smell just wonderful.

American Coots ( yes, the coot is a real duck.Click here, if you don�t believe me) were all along the shoreline, dining on these dead fish.

With all this death and decay taking place, what bluegill remained in the area had moved out from the shoreline. That put them in about 7� of water, maybe 15-20 feet from the bank.

Let me tell you- when the wind is blowing into your face and you are trying to throw a bobber and jig rig into the lake that is 2� longer than your pole, this is nearly impossible. I spent most of the time there TRYING to cast the line out far enough to reach the few bluegills hanging around. It took me almost 4 hours, but I finally culled enough fish to have 9 to bring home. I could have put those 9 fish into my bucket in 10- 15 minutes last fall, fishing these same spots.

That was then, this is now, I guess�..


If you have read my �journal� for any amount of time, you might remember when I wrote about the scumbags who kept fucking wth Codeman�s license plates (back in 2002) For some reason, a couple of kids from his high school kept getting their jollies, first by stealing his plates, and later by bending the crap out of his replacements.

Never could figure out what he did to make these two (we found out later who they were), but this kept happening until I decided to sharpen the sides of his plates to a razor-sharp edge. For some reason, that ended the vandalism. I would think a few stitches to the hand breaks you of this habit.

Anyway��

Codeman informed me that one of the perps was found dead in a drug house in the bad part of town over the weekend.

Sad, yes. But it makes you wonder why nobody in his life saw he was headed in the wrong direction. It always seems to start with petty things, and escalates to bigger and more dangerous things. This boy didn�t come from a bad household. At least, not on the surface, anyway. It�s not like his daddy was in jail, and his momma was turning tricks at the truck stop at night.

You don�t go from being a model citizen to dieing in a crack house overnight.

Not usually, anyway��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top